What A Start It Was

I’ve been receiving, dare I say it, some harassment about sharing snowy pictures.  We got our first snow back in November (is it really December already??), and I was waaaaaaaaay more excited than I probably should have been, but it was really only an inch or two of accumulation.  And, we’ve had a few more snows like that.  But, those of you who stay up to date on these things know that we got our first real snowfall of the season yesterday and yesternight.  And so, I’m sure you expect the aforementioned snowy pics.  Good for you 😉

Instead, for now, I’m going to share with you a bit about November.  We really expected November to be a just-shoot-me month, if there is going to be one up here.  If you can call it that, we were largely disappointed.  Daylight saving time ended, and so did our evenings, but really November wasn’t awful.  I was pretty determined it couldn’t be.  I went for a few cold-weather runs and enjoyed the company of waning sunlight and jumpy whitetails.  We went for drives to see if Torch Lake was full of muskie like it was last year (it wasn’t, at least, not that day).  We watched the sun set over different lakes.  And a few days after one of our early snows, we went for a hike at Sand Lakes.  It was desolate.  The lighting was beautiful.  The air was crisp, but not cold.  The leaves smelled like leaves.  It was a good day.

Sunset over Grand Traverse Bay, East Arm, Lake Michigan

Sunset over Lake Skegemog

Looking through some paper birches to "lake 2"

Lake 3, a little over-exposed. But isn't the reflection nice? I also liked the snow hanging on despite a couple of ~50 degree days

When November wasn’t cooperating, and was instead being its cold, rainy, normal self, we painted.  I’m pretty sure November was invented so that people could take care of home maintenance!  We covered the cotton candy color upstairs with a couple of rich greens.  We changed our bedroom from a light seaside blue to a deep and moody gray with almost black accents.  And I painted the risers on the stairs a classic white.  So, even though I didn’t check in, November was doable, and at times even enjoyable.

And then came December 1.  I’ve done a fair amount of research about when to expect the snowy season to start.  All accounts I’ve come across say it begins around the first of December.  I’d say December 1st is around then.  We had an inch or so of snow on the ground at daybreak yesterday, and it snowed steadily throughout the day.  At 5:00 we had lake effect snow warnings, and the meteorologists didn’t lie.  We got somewhere between half a foot and 8 inches of heavy, wet snow.  It was super slick, too.  I know this, because we were out and about in the little GTI.  The little GTI that has this exciting habit of providing you with some torque steering just when you don’t want it.  The little GTI for which we have extra wheels, but which we have no snow tires.  Because we waited. one. day. too. long.  Alas, now we are at home for a few days, playing chicken with the weather and hoping the next time we venture out (no doubt to buy those tires!), we’ll fare okay.

Looking across to the mailbox, over the packed snow trails from FedEx and the furnace guy

But there is good news (aside from the fact that we did make it home last night sans scrapes and bruises or worse).  The inaugural use of the snow-blower went well.  It comically shoots snow about 20 feet into the air, if you aim it right, and it got the driveway cleared with acceptable ease.

It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas?

And, when I was done clearing the driveway, I played.  Zy and Kade left their sleds here when they visited over the summer (because we were going to sled down the dunes, that’s why), and I figured I should probably make sure they still worked.  They do 😉

Proof that I'm an idiot

Or maybe THIS one's the proof 😉

I didn’t stay out to build a snowman (sorry to disappoint!), but I did go take a few pretty snow pictures.  Enjoy 🙂

Macro Snow

Postcard snow

2 thoughts on “What A Start It Was

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

