Early Birds Get the Worms

About which I am happy, if “early birds” refers to snow and “worms” refers to ski season.

We had the Clifton trio (self-titled JC3, in case you were wondering) over for dinner last night (a post on that later).  I would tell you all about how we enjoyed watching the sun set, but I don’t want to lie.  The sun is setting too early now.  But, we did talk about how beautiful the sun was and how hopeful we were that it would snow copiously.  After eating, guitar-playing, and video-gaming, JC3 headed home and then texted to let us know their power was out and that it was snowing like crazy their way.  They made it through the night sans problems, and we all awoke to glorious snow-felted beauty.

Sure, it’s early to have 6 inches of snow (that’s about what we got in the past 24 hours), but if the weather cooperates – i.e. stays cold and keeps snowing, which it won’t – Tony and I could be skiing on Thanksgiving.  A girl can dream, right?  I am downright giddy about the snowfall.  I had a couple little tears this morning thanks to my overwhelming happiness at the life we’ve managed to create for ourselves.  Things aren’t always perfect – I miss my friends and family who I don’t get to see nearly often enough! – but I feel so fortunate that we have chosen this path over so many others. So, even when things aren’t perfect, I feel pretty darn blessed to have things the way I have them right now.

Here’s wishing you much happiness, and as much giddiness as you can muster as you go through your seasonal changes – literally or metaphysically.

{Click any thumbnail for a slide show that will load on top of the page.  Very easy to click thru or out of!  WordPress is now doing this on all galleries 🙂 }

6 thoughts on “Early Birds Get the Worms

  1. It’s those imperfect times that make us appreciate the good times that much more. Isn’t it great when a plan works out and life is happy? When your snow falls, enjoy your whooshing through it on those little wooden sticks. I’ll enjoy ours through the windows from the warmth of the house – until the dogs convince me we should walk and then I’ll enjoy that. Until I have to drive somewhere. Then I’ll complain.

    • It really is. As far as the snow goes, I’m sure the dogs will enjoy whooshing through it enough for you, but I recommend a cup of coffee or hot chocolate to heighten your experience 🙂 I’m afraid I have no suggestions to improve the driving situation. We are grateful for snow tires and gentle roads. We moved here from GA mountains. Snow there was a terrifying experience.

    • The snow’s all gone, but it inspired me to decorate for Christmas. I know – early, right? But I just LOVE the warmth of the season, so I usually decorate immediately following Halloween. Can’t wait to see friends and family, though it’ll be after Thanksgiving. Hope you get to connect with those you love, even if it is “just” a phone call 🙂

  2. Great pictures Heather. Nothing can make you feel better than knowing that you have made the right decisions pertaining to your life. And there are always little things that pop up that make you wish “if only”. But you can’t have everything, and few people anymore are surrounded by friends and family.

    • Thank you for the kind words. It was a tough decision to make the move up here after making so many close friends 1,000 miles south, and still having most of our family 500 miles away. But, once we decided, everything tumbled into place and we’re thrilled to be here. You’re right though: if only my loved ones lived closer 😉 However, technology allows us to connect to people we love who live hundreds and thousands of miles away, so I can’t complain too much. Hope you have a great Thanksgiving and get to spend time with some of those YOU love 🙂

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

