Stark Winter Beauty

Our first two days back home from our southern Ohio visit have been nothing short of perfectly normal.  We had lunch and catch up (disambiguation: not the condiment) with the Clifton trio.  And, of course, coffee from Morsels. On our way out of town, Tony and I stopped by Clinch Park so I could play with my camera take pictures of the wind-sculpted icicles that had formed along the beach-side railings.  When you don’t have feet of snow to work with, you take what you can get.  I still think they look cool.

Reflections

Crunchy grass

Angled ice fingers

Ice octopuses

Considering our abject seasonal snow failure, we debated whether to ski. Leaning toward “no,” we unloaded some grocery staples from the car, after which I quickly and capriciously leaned all the way toward “yes.”  You see, last year we tried to get the most out of each visit to the slopes since we didn’t have a pass.  Last night, I thought: we have passes and even if the skiing isn’t great, at least we’ll be out there for a bit having fun.  So that’s what we did.  I had serious trepidation (seriously folks: sweaty palms). What if I forgot how to stand up? No, I think I can still do that. But what if I don’t remember how to pizza hard enough and can’t stop, even on the easy runs? Worse: what if I can’t turn to slow myself after I’ve decided to go down a medium blue run? Yikes.

But we suited up and things came back just like riding a bike.  Actually, it was better, because there was no bike seat mashing uncomfortably into my flesh.  I left the toasty-toes in the car, so my little piggies were a mite chilly after almost two hours, and we still needed dinner.  We did a few easy runs to re-introduce ourselves to the hills and then graduated up to medium.  The snow wasn’t great, since it’s mostly man-made, so we were not pressing our luck down the steeper runs. We had a great time anyway.

It snowed lightly all night, and most of today we had beautiful, fat fluff consistently falling. Around 3:30, I tried my hardest, and finally persuaded Tony to go for a ride take more pictures. That went about like this: “Want to go look at the lake?”  He’s a tough sell.  The snow was coming down pretty thick, blocking out the far-away shores of Torch Lake, but it was impeccable winter scenery out there, and a perfect excuse to actually wear my snow boots. 🙂

Southern shore of Torch

Evergreen and red

Baby icicles

Snowy red berries

Red rose hips

Eastern shore of Torch

Oh yeah, and I made peanut butter filled cookies today.  If you’re a peanut butter and chocolate lover, these are for you.  I’ll get them ready to share soon!

6 thoughts on “Stark Winter Beauty

  1. I enjoy all your pictures and comments. Hope you have a wonderful 2012. We are having a warm holiday and if I am warm, I would rather be in Key West! My cousin moved to Chicago this year and my best friend from high school days just moved to Mason City, Iowa, so the possibility of me actually heading in a northerly direction someday is increasing…. in the meantime, keep the pictures and comments flowing. Who is John Galt?

    • Diane! I’m so glad you keep stopping by! We’re pretty warm up here, too, for this time of year. Not to worry – word on the street is we’ll be properly cold to usher in the new year (high of 14 F Tuesday!). More pictures are definitely on the way; I got a new camera and am on the way out the door now to go play. Best wishes for 2012! Who is John Galt?

  2. I LOVE the photos of icicles. They are so cool! (OK, downright cold, but beautiful.) I also love the red berries. Skiing? Well, not so much. But I am glad you remembered how, that it was so easy. Hope you enjoy your skiing all winter and that you get enough snow.

    • We went skiing again today and I chanced a black run once. The snow is much nicer and less scary to go down now that there’s some natural powder out there. Icicles and red berries are particular favorites of mine in the winter. I’m sure I’ll be posting more, so I’m glad you enjoy them as well 🙂 Keep warm up there!

    • I keep telling myself not to be greedy about the snow, that I should be simply thrilled for our friends in TC who’ve been getting smashed all day. And I AM happy for them, but I DO covet their snow. Perhaps my mind will change on that in time, but I really love living in a snow globe in the winter. Hope you get your snow soon to enjoy and complain about 🙂

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

