The Calm Before the Storm

Still they remain

You’re likely already aware that we’re having an atypical winter in northern Michigan (lower peninsula). Usually we’re pretty much buried in snow the entire winter, which we do not count as starting on the solstice. This year we’ve had storms and melts. Rinse, repeat.  So, with most of the snow from the last storm melted, and another on the way, I set about getting some shots before the storm.

This is what happens when I can’t decide which picture I like the most. I apologize. Don’t forget: if you click one, the pictures come up larger with an easy-to-escape transparent slideshow-ish layer.

Sunset over Lake Skegemog

A bunny's view

Dipping behind the hill

Tree light and ice

It just keeps going

Dominique - not at all impressed

Sebastian is equally unconcerned

Tony and I live out in the sticks smack-dab in the middle of an intense snow belt.  We will often see more snow than surrounding areas, and this time seems no different. We had somewhere in the neighborhood of three inches of accumulation about two hours ago.  I haven’t checked since I last stepped out and snapped that photo, but I suspect there’s more. Looks like we have a fun weekend ahead of us!

Edit: Less than 3 hours later, and the little red bud tree is visibly weighted down more and our foot prints are nearly filled in…look forward to more snow pics soon 🙂

Freshies, Jess?

Frosted flakes

Oh, in case you missed it, here’s a picture of my newest nephew Mark William Brock:

Hello world! Isn't he precious? It's *really* great being a proud aunt, and I am excited for the cuddles I keep hearing so much about!

8 thoughts on “The Calm Before the Storm

  1. Looks like you are getting a nice little snow storm, which is good for you. You can enjoy it. We have a dusting, but it it has turned off cold and windy AS all night. Which is kinda what January is supposed to be. Pictures are beautiful, as always. And what a nice touch at the finale!

    • I never know if other people are going to “get” my pictures, but I can usually count on you, especially since we often take the same pictures without being together!

  2. The weather report has indicated you got quite a lot of the white stuff, averting a disastrous drought. We await precipitation, which is promised for the weekend. Whether it will be snow or rain or amount to anything worth talking about remains to be seen.

  3. Oh Heather, he’s so cute! I can see why you would be a proud aunt. Also, you DO live in a snowbelt; I know that area. Are you getting any snow today? We had maybe three inches.

    • I can’t wait to meet him! We got about 5 inches earlier, and it’s still going strong. For the first time, we weren’t sure our little car would make it up our hill! Ski plans put off till tomorrow, giving the snowplow time to come (hopefully!).

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

