A Minor Excursion

It’s hard to believe I’m not living in Bizarro World. If I am, I know I’m not alone, because everyone is talking about the strangeness of the weather. I feel like things have crossed over to ridiculous. This morning I decided to go for a run. I dressed in a T-shirt and stretchy pants, and prepared to be a bit chilly as I stepped out of the garage. Instead warm summer air wafted over to me. I was actually hot as I jogged. Where has March gone? Are we just not getting a spring this year? Will the morels be too toasty and not show at all? I feel some comfort knowing that this pre-summer summer we’re having is set to end…in about another week.

Until then, I will enjoy the upper 70’s we’ve been having, and try not to worry too much about what may come. After all, there’s not much I can do to prevent it. Along those lines, Tony and I had delicious blended lattes from Morsels before heading over to the TART trail for a walk. I think I have him talked into some roller-blades (we won’t spring for the other 90’s attire, rest assured), so score one for the good guys! (Good guys = Me, if by chance you missed that πŸ˜‰ )

Other than that, the stroll was pleasant, but otherwise uneventful. Except we did see this little guy on the return leg:

He needs a bath. Perhaps in Cedar Lake?

And just in case you need a reminder of what March is normally like, here are two shots from last year:

Torch Lake, from the same place as yesterday, one year ago yesterday!

Stoop level on 3/23/2011. We got 20 inches out of this storm.

4 thoughts on “A Minor Excursion

  1. I think we live too far west – we have seen no 70 degree temperatures, we are happy if we get above 40, and dustings of snow have been greeting me in the mornings. Yesterday we celebrated when the sun broke through the clouds for a few hours. Your photos are lovely, although Mr. Turtle looks a bit worse for the wear.

    • I suspect that we judge Mr. Turtle too harshly; I bet he’s happy that way πŸ™‚
      As for the weather, we are about 40 degrees above March averages. Usually by the end of the month we are seeing highs around the 41 degree mark. We have been blessed this year – or so it seems…we shall wait to hear what the fruit crop has to say – by an unusually long, unusually summery weather pattern. Next weekend we might awake to similar dustings!

  2. Isn’t it Bizarro World, Heather, tee hee? It’s 82 degrees here now! Barry is rototilling the garden! What’s happening? Wishing you many fabulous runs…wait! Wait a darn minute! Did you say morels? did you find some ALREADY?

    • Haven’t even looked. Well, as long as you don’t count the hound-dog-esque hunting I did while in Nashville and Atlanta πŸ˜‰ I’m incorrigible! You don’t have to worry about missing the first morel – that will definitely be a post!

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

