Why I’ll Keep Turning 30

I know several women who are 29, and have been for a few years. Me, I think I’ll stick to 30.

My thirtieth birthday isn’t quite two weeks away, and if thirty is always this good, I’ll just keep celebrating. I posted this on Facebook a while back: “Just ordered my birthday present. I am going to be SOO surprised ;).”ย  Do you want to know how I’m honoring my third decade?

Because every thirty-year-old wants a trampoline. I grew up with one, and every time Tony and I shopped real estate online, my caveat was always whether the yard fit a trampoline. Clearly the house we purchased has space, and now I have my trampoline to fill it.ย  I’ll share if you want to come by and jump. ๐Ÿ˜‰

But wait, there’s more! Our great friends, the Cliftons, and my great husband, the Tony, decided that we’d mark my milestone weekend with anย inaugural trip to Mackinac Island. We’ll be staying at an adorable B&B (aren’t they all?) that Jess found onย the island. (Bonus points if you know how to pronounce its name already ๐Ÿ˜‰ We have our collective fingers crossed for good weather, since there are no cars to drive to-and-fro.

Oh, but that’s not all! Tony had a ring commissioned for me. Yes – fancy-schmancy, custom-made! Jim and Jess’s neighbor, Jim Blanchard, is a jeweler who is known for working with fordite and Michigan stones. I am not much of a jewelry-wearer, but I practically slobber over the purple-blue tanzanite, and have considered a petoskey setting, as a symbol of home-state love. Tony worked with Jim to create a ring for me to try to capture some of the spirit of each of those in a piece I would wear.

The stone is Michigan’s gem: greenstone – or chlorastrolite (mineral name). It’s found on the Keweenaw Peninsula in copper mine waste piles, or on Lake Superior’s Isle Royale, where it is illegal to collect. And a last fun fact: greenstone has chatoyancy, which means its luster changes with the angle of light…like a cat’s eye:

Okay, okay. I’m done boasting now. But seriously, with these good omens, how bad can turning 30 really be?

12 thoughts on “Why I’ll Keep Turning 30

  1. Sounds to me like an absolutely perfect age to be, and a marvelous way to celebrate it! The ring is beautiful – so nice that it represents so many parts of your life. Happy Birthday!

    • Older is the only way to go ๐Ÿ™‚ And thank you re: the ring and birthday wishes. I am fortunate to have such a great husband, friends, and family.

  2. 30 is a wonderful year to turn! You have so much juiciness coming up in your life. Why, you’re just beginning to fully realize your magnificence! Guess what, Heather? I have an invite to go to Mackinac Island on my way BACK from downstate. Isn’t that strange and interesting, that both of us have the opportunity? Well, we shall see. Looking forward to hearing how the Island treated you–and how you love being 30.

    • Life’s funny that way! There’s a chance that my parents from southern OH will be here while you are on the island ๐Ÿ™‚
      Looking forward to 30, and beyond. Even if my few grays become mostly grays ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Hi hon, so happy to see you FINALLY got your trampoline! (Though being one of your moms, those pictures leave me slightly concerned about more casts in your future!) The ring is just absolutely gorgeous. Makes me very proud that Tony has grown into such a good and thoughtful guy. Can’t wait to see your pics from your trip. You guys gonna be south anytime soon? Love you and really miss you guys.

    • I love having it! I tested my ankle on Corey’s trampoline before we got this one. I haven’t even had any questionable moments. Promise I’ll be reasonably careful ๐Ÿ˜‰
      I’m proud of him, too. He’s got good parents! I’m not sure when we’ll be down, but we’ll be there sometime. There was talk of Mom & Dad coming here the weekend after my bday, but I’m not sure that’s going to pan out. We’ll let you know ASAP if you’ll have bodies for the move. Leprosy and all ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Yeah haven’t forgotten about your leprosy! Actually would rather have you there post-move so we can relax and enjoy!

  4. Pingback: Mackinawesome | The Move to Michigan

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

