Friends, Visits, and Forever Sunsets

I’m baaaaack! The past two weeks have been a veritable blur, so I’ll just hit the high spots.

First, I met my online blogger-friend Kathy. She writes an unclassifiable, but undoubtedly delightful blog from the Upper Peninsula. Her folks live downstate, and she was passing through my neck of the woods a couple weeks back on her way to visit them. We met for breakfast in Grayling, where we talked for an hour and a half. I’ve been reading her blog since we moved here, so it was really cool to meet her. Conversation came easily, as we’ve shared many thoughts, and have lots of common ground. Ironically, it was our differences that struck me the most. I have this idea about my little blog that people really come here for the pictures…which is probably projecting why Iwould visit. Not Kathy. She’s a word person who has to slow down and deliberately take time to look at the pictures…exactly the opposite of me ๐Ÿ™‚ย  Oh the ways in which this world delights!

Kathy and her father, celebrating his birthday

Tony and I successfully opened our B&B (for friends and family only, at the special friends and family rate, no less!) with the Shawlers, who drove here from northern Georgia. We got in some sightseeing, lots of play time with Abigail, a night of cards (maybe not a highlight for you, but we love cards), and a bit of fishing for the guys.


There are now three gallons -not pounds!- of fish in the freezer. Salmon anyone?

A couple days after they headed south, we flew down to Atlanta for a brief work trip. If you’re ever in the area, let me know, because we have friends there who are beyond excellent hosts, and I’m sure they want to extend the friends and family discount ๐Ÿ˜‰ย ย  Our awesome friend/host/coworker/boss organized a department tubing tripย on the Chattahoochee River, which is surprisingly beautiful for a section of mid-city water flowing between two interstate overpasses.ย  All in all, the trip went incredibly smoothly – even TSA was pleasant!

Thursday evening, we scarfed pizza on the patio at Pangea’s, and then strolled through downtown Traverse City with Josh and Meredith, friends from Ohio who stayed at our place while we were away south. We eventually meandered over to the beach/marina to watch the sunset.

Taken at 9:32 on 6/21

This time of year is simply magical. The sun crosses the horizon a hint past 9:30pm, but dusk lingers until nearly 11:00pm. We frequently stay out waaaaay later than intended just because we witnessed the passing of another day. But then we also spend waaaaay less time on the couch, because if it’s light outside, that’s usually where we are.

Taken at 10:57 on 6/22

Tomorrow brings another visitor, with whom I am excited to share my world. Next week, my parents arrive to help us transform our decrepit deck into a new patio. After that, things slow down a bit. I think.ย  I’ll keep you posted ๐Ÿ˜‰

5 thoughts on “Friends, Visits, and Forever Sunsets

  1. The beginnings of a busy summer, it sounds like. Love your photos – and your words – and I especially love the new header photo! Looking forward to hearing, and seeing, more.

    • Thank you, Carol. I quite liked that photo too. I wasn’t even sure it was going to turn out, considering I still don’t have a tripod. Stability was provided by a picnic table. One day I’ll quit being so cheap and just purchase one. Until then, found support objects it is ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Hi Ms Heather Honeybunch. lol! Well, you know I truly treasured our meeting as well. It was fun. We’ll have to do it again. And maybe next time we’ll get out our cameras. Hoping to see you later on in this summer when you head up. I am still smiling about calling my blog “unclassifiable”. Yep. That about says it. Love that sunset photo with the blue boats. Oh my, gorgeous.

    • I thought about you with the blue boats, and how they’re really white boats. But, I decided they actually looked blue in the light, so blue I left them ๐Ÿ™‚ I decided that pigeon-holing your blog just wouldn’t do, and I also thought a list of possible descriptors would become overly long. Looking forward to many happy meetings!

  3. Pingback: The Eben Ice Caves and Blogging Buddies | Adventures in Michigan's Up North

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

