Beauty to Share

Even though I haven’t been blogging as much recently as I had been, I have not been as remiss with my picture-snapping. Thus, I have all these pictures to share, and not a lot of words to go with them. I’m sharing anyway 😉  Are you ready? Let’s go touring!

Big Glen Lake  and Little Glen Lake  / Cool flower in front of the Glen Lakes


Big Glen Lake (background) has a maximum depth of 131 feet, whereas Little Glen Lake only reaches 13 feet deep. At one point, they would have been about the same depth, but sand pours in from the dunes, slowly filling in the nearer lake. The color variation between the two is thanks to the depth of the sand under the water, which you can see clearly on the right side of Little Glen. As for the flower, I obviously have no idea what it is, but I do think it’s cool.

Views of and from the Sleeping Bear Dunes


Expansive view across the dunes, both Manitou Islands visible in the distance. Hiking across the dunes is still on my to-do list, just not in this heat. All our nearby lakes kept us relatively cool, but mid-nineties is still pretty warm…too warm to climb in searing sand.


Left: The lighthouse on South Manitou Island isn’t always visible, but thanks to the clear day, you wouldn’t know it was 16 miles away. Right: North Bar Lake and its passage into the Big Lake. By all accounts a good place to surf – also on my to-do list.


This is one of my favorite places Up North – the view from the 9 & 10 Dune Overlooks on the Pierce Stocking Scenic Drive. Impressive Lake Michigan extends below, looking oceanic, and the Empire Bluffs marching into the water to the south give a nice preview of what the dunes look like from afar.

Flowers and Fruit




The little white balloon flowers grow all over up here, always with a little white flower perched daintily above a striped balloon-y pouch that does not open. The little yellow flower is probably a weed, but I thought it was lovely (if fall-like) in front of the barn-red Glen Haven cannery. The orange flower is, I think, a butterfly flower, and I’ve only seen a couple growing wild. This one was on the aforementioned Pierce Stocking drive. And the cherries…they’re the delicious symbol of Traverse City. Home sweet home 🙂

Sunsets


A favorite place for watching the sun set – Mission Point Lighthouse, at the tip of the Old Mission Peninsula. The water is shallow and protected from the wind, so the reflections are always beautiful. This one’s from 6/26.





I couldn’t decide which was my favorite, so I decided that I didn’t have to 😉 I shot these tonight from the nearest Lake Skegemog overlook. You might notice you can’t even see the lake. That’s because the sun is even farther north.

So much for no words. I guess I just had no story. Regardless, I hope you enjoyed your tour…any questions for your guide?

5 thoughts on “Beauty to Share

  1. So fascinating that you posted about Manitou Island. I just read a book called The Voyagers by Margaret Elphinstone and much of it centered around these islands. And i had never heard of them in Lake Michigan before!

    • I am surprised you haven’t heard of them! How was the book? I’m always looking for books to add to my list…which I might not ever get through.
      As for the islands, you’ll be hearing/seeing more of them. We have a diving trip not-planned-but-happening to check out the Francisco Morazan ship wreck. 🙂 🙂

      • I Loved the book. It was one of those historical ones, but it was intriguing. It was also a lot about Mackinac Island. Claire, one of my commenters from Wales, recommended it. Your diving trip sounds really fun!

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

