Ricotta Salted Caramel Blondies

Since I started including food posts on my blog, you might have noticed that I have a bit of a problem – I am hopelessly in love with salted caramel. As soon as I make one dish with salted caramel, I am thinking of the next thing to make. Salted caramel sauce on ice cream, salted caramel ice cream, salted caramels (which were the inspiration for a salted caramel latte at my favorite coffee joint), salted caramel butter cream frosting, pumpkin salted caramel blondies, pumpkin salted caramel ice cream, coffee salted caramel ice cream, salted caramel cinnamon rolls. Add these to the list. And don’t be surprised when you see future salted caramel confections.

I picked up some ricotta (accidentally got low fat) to make ricotta cookies, but then decided I didn’t feel like baking in multiple rounds. Plus I didn’t have any frosting, and also did not feel like making that. So, yeah – I wanted homemade goodies, but didn’t want to work for them. Except for continuously resetting the timer (because I started checking them at 22 minutes – waaay too soon), these fit the bill. Fluffy, moist, and kind of dense, plus salted caramel deliciousness – mixed in one bowl. What are you waiting for? Go make these!

Ingredients

1 stick unsalted butter, softened
1 cup ricotta cheese
2 cups light brown sugar, lightly packed
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda (omit if you want your blondies more brownie-like/less cake-y)
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
~3/4 cup salted caramel sauce

Steps

-Grease bottom and sides of a 9×13 pan. Set aside.
-Preheat oven to 350F.
-In a large bowl (I used my handy-dandy Kitchen Aid), blend butter and ricotta until smooth. Add sugar, one cup at a time, and beat until it lightens. Stir in vanilla extract. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Mix in salt and baking soda. Mix in flour in multiple additions.
-Spread 2/3 of mixture in prepared pan. Pour caramel sauce evenly over bottom layer. Add remaining blondie mix in dollops. Smooth some – be aware that some caramel will ooze around the edges. (If you feel lazy, you can easily just spread all the mix in the pan and top with caramel that you then swirl in with a knife – you just won’t have a layer of caramel inside your blondies.)
-Bake for about 45 minutes, until middle is set.
-Serve with milk or coffee 😉

Note

The link above hooks into a recipe I wrote in January. If you just omit the Frangelico and use regular vanilla extract, you’ll have my go-to recipe for salted caramel. If you don’t want to make your own, I hear Trader Joe’s has a pretty good sauce. And if neither of those options sounds great, I’ve heard that you can do an okay sauce by adding sea salt to some caramel ice cream sauce. Just don’t blame me if it isn’t awesome. And really, don’t use regular table salt – it will be too salty.

6 thoughts on “Ricotta Salted Caramel Blondies

  1. Pingback: Salted Caramel Cheesecake with a Pretzel Crust | The Move to Michigan

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

