Collecting Bug Bites (and Tiny Turtles, and Fish)

It’s not what we set out to do, getting gnawed upon by thirsty mosquitoes, but we are overzealous (ha!), and accomplished it anyway. We are such good multi-taskers πŸ˜‰

Tiny turtle that was crossing the road, post marauding mosquitoes

A few days back, Tony and I drove up the Leelanau Peninsula to go for a hike. We diligently doused our hats, clothes, and selves in lemon-eucalyptus bug spray and set off on a gently rolling trail. It wasn’t long before a deer fly was buzzing us, followed directly by hoards of mosquitoes. Tony guarded me vigilantly on the few occasions I stopped to snap a picture, but mostly we fled the bugs.

.

It’s a shame we were so harassed during the hike; the woods were beautiful and peaceful – you know, if you ignored the hum of insects seeking their dinner. Mature hardwoods, thick canopy, mulch-dusted trail…all observed on the trot. At least we enjoyed a reprieve on the overlook. I’m thinking September will be a nice time to go back…perhaps for some boletes.

.

We spent the remainder of the evening eating gelatto/sorbetto and watching the sun set with Jim, Jess, and Jackson. Things around town really have calmed some with the passing of Cherry Fest. At Jackson’s behest, he and Tony ran hand-in-hand down the pier, and on the way back a couple who were fishing stopped them and asked Jackson if he wanted to reel in their catch.


.

I’ll save the big reveal for Jess. Instead I’ll just bask for a moment in the unexpected kindness of complete strangers.

9 thoughts on “Collecting Bug Bites (and Tiny Turtles, and Fish)

  1. Your posts so often remind me to enjoy the simple pleasures of life, Heather. I am sorry the insects ate you for dinner. I am happy to hear that Tony protected you. Lovely photos–even went back to look a second time to be sure the eye really SAW them. Love that smile on the last one.

    • Aww thanks Kathy. I think that’s a big part of why I write – to remind myself of the joy of the little things. I think it can be easy to get lost in negative. I choose to see the positive…and then share πŸ™‚

    • To think that we almost hit it. Tony swerved, and I said “What was THAT all about?” When he said turtle, I exclaimed “You have to stop! I gotta go back!” πŸ˜‰

  2. Not that many probably care, particularly considering how late I am in getting around to this, but that ‘big reveal’ can be seen here…. πŸ˜‰
    Fresh Fish

  3. Pingback: Before the last leaf falls | Adventures in Michigan's Up North

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

