A Falls-less Fallsville

After work this afternoon, mom and I wound our way over to the Fallsville Wildlife Area. I could be making this up, but the area is named, presumably, after the waterfalls formed when the Clear Creek cascades over a 15-foot drop. Or it does in non-drought-at-the-end-of-August. I’ve been there when there’s water in the creek, and the falls are a beautiful surprise amidst the area’s usual pastoral scenery.





Mom and I simply enjoyed hiking the dry creek bed this time. Much of the exposed rock was so dry that the normally slippery algae was instead a dry crust. The area still held unexpected beauty; more leaves than I had expected were tinged with gold, and the very occasional breeze whispered through them, providing a nice soundtrack where the falls failed.


At the beginning of our descent into the falls area, I tried to spy another, easier way down to the falls. (Remember – my mom just had that surgery, regaining her ability to for-real-walk back in June.) She hopped downΒ  – a drop of about five feet in a tight, rocky crevice – and beckoned. Well, obviously I was underestimating her (sorry Mom!).




We clambered over rocky outcroppings and tumbled stones, until the puddles of creek disappeared from view. Despite the heat and sweat dripping down my back (thanks, camera bag), we had a great time. I’m pretty sure we’ll go back to shopping for our “girl time” when the weather worsens, but it’s great to get out for a brief hike together again!

I love you Mom. Please forgive my use of this picture that I also love πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “A Falls-less Fallsville

  1. You are forgiven..actually, being that I am so photogenic, it is a pretty good picture! And I preferred the hike to the shopping πŸ™‚

    • Glad you’re not too upset…I thought it was a good photo, but it is a bit silly πŸ˜‰
      I preferred the hike too, but I might not in the future when I *ahem* need shoes or seasonal decorations!

  2. Hi, Heather’s mom! I love your picture! Please do not chide Heather for using it. We bloggers love showing off our loved ones. (Chris is coming for a visit this week and I am hoping he’ll allow me to take his photo.) It sounds like you two had an ideal late summer day. I liked the leaves, second to your mom. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Kathy! I love her work, but I am very UN photogenic. I was not the least upset. She uses discretion when posting pics of me..cause she has some REALLY bad ones of me, too lol. We both love the times we get to spend together, so it is very nice to have the mementos. I hope Chris lets you “shoot him” too. Have a great visit!

    • Chris is coming home? How exciting! You are right about sharing our loved ones – I try to be judicious in the pictures I share though πŸ˜‰
      And I suppose I like the other photos second to my mom too. Tee hee. Kidding Mom πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Falling into a New Year | Adventures in Michigan's Up North

  4. Pingback: A Few of My Favorite Things | Adventures in Michigan's Up North

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

