Welcome, Fall!

We’ve had a pretty laid back time since we returned from Ohio, mostly because we’ve been working and hiding out from the incessant rain…that we needed, so I’m not complaining too sincerely. Our neighbors shared some of their bounty of tomatoes, which I think I’ll convert to spaghetti sauce along with some more of my fresh basil – I’ll keep you posted – and we celebrated Jess’s birthday. I think she’s 29 πŸ˜‰

After cake (blueberry lavender with lavender glaze) and ice cream (lemon curd), we enjoyed an early fall stroll through the neighborhood. More leaves than expected crunch underfoot along the way, and the canopy is speckled with reds and golds. The ~60 degree high temp of the day underscores that it is indeed early fall – no longer late summer. I thought I’d be sad, but I find that I’m excited. I’m looking forward to running when it’s not early or late in the day, dressing in layers, and baking with pumpkin. I’m eager for early evening campfires, windstorms on the Big Lake, and – of course – the autumn leaf spectacular.





Tonight’s sunset from the Old Mission Peninsula

But if you’re not as ready to say goodbye to summer as I am, here’s some classic summery goodness to keep you going:

This is how Pappy cuts a watermelon. And yes, I shamelessly shared one of those spoons!

10 thoughts on “Welcome, Fall!

  1. The third picture down–I like it. Our September calendar picture looks like that, except with a yellow leaf in the foreground. I want to taste blueberry lavender with lavender glaze. What would that taste like?

    • I can see a nice yellow leaf improving the image just a tad πŸ˜‰
      Blueberry lavender is mellow. The lavender is just a hint, and a bit unexpected. Jess might argue otherwise, but I thought the ice cream was waaaaaay better than the cake. I think lavender is not my thing. Lemon curd, though. It’ll be in a post soon!

        • I think I need to dream up something else lavender for me. Actually, I do have something dreamt – I just need to make it! I have withheld from the lemon curd so far, but only because our favorite orchard has their honeycrisp apples in!

  2. Gorgeous photos, as always! I am looking forward to fall, it is definitely a favorite season for me. I love the crispy feel to the air and the colors! Oh the colors!

    • Thanks so much Carol! I always enjoyed the beauty of fall, but it wasn’t a favorite for a long time. It’s definitely a favorite now, but then I have reasons that make each season a favorite now. I know that makes me sound either like I’m completely indecisive or entirely full of it, but it’s true πŸ™‚

  3. That cake & ice cream was seriously delicious – a nice calming herbal aroma with a splash of fresh citrus! πŸ™‚ Can’t thank you enough – for that and everything else that made this such a stellar pseudo-birthday weekend πŸ™‚ xoxo

    • Consider it but a small thank you for being such good friends! I hope your pseudo-birthday weekend was a worthy celebration, even if we didn’t go to Mackinac Island for your 30th! (Which, of course, you haven’t had yet. Mmm hmm.)

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

