Jet Lag with a Side of Flora

We’re getting back to our regular schedule, but it’s slow going. Maui is currently 6 hours behind our EDT schedule (they don’t participate in daylight saving time, so in less than a month, they’ll only be 5 hours behind us eastern time zone folks), and the west-to-east transition is at tough one. We got home from grocery shopping last night this morning at 2:30, and went to bed at 3:30. I realize how ridiculous that is, but it’s not too far from our usual. Well, the super-late grocery shopping is not at all normal, but those Cliftons sucked us right in to some good hang-out time and we didn’t leave their house til almost 1:00. What’s a person who needs food to do?

I’ve sung fall’s praises and welcomed the coming winter, but I’ll be honest: I don’t love the abrupt change from mid-80s (~30C) to 40s (~5C). Low clouds enveloped us as we flew in to Traverse City from Chicago on Thursday morning, dropping buckets of snow that melted upon contact with the relatively warm, wet ground. The snow abated during the late morning and throughout the rest of the day, but we’ve had flurries the past two nights. Shanty Creek, our “neighborhood” ski resort even reported a skim coat atop Schuss Mountain yesterday morning. I’m still excited for the snowy season, especially since the big fall show is almost over, but I have not been exactly excited about the cold drizzle and occasional heavy rains that have plagued – yes plagued – the weekend.

I’ve still got tons of things to share from our Maui trip (volcano and reef adventures coming soon), but right now I’d just like to linger on some of Maui’s ubiquitous, sub-tropical offerings. If you’re feeling like you need a punch of warm weather and bright colors, these pictures are for you!

Avocado, bananas, lemon


All of the above are in Meg’s yard, delighting the nose and tummy

Ginger blossoms and a peeling eucalyptus which are both prevalent in Maui’s upcountry

The varied, jungle-y canopy and a close-up of those orange blossoms – on a tree,left – found near Hana

Orange hibiscus table-side at a lunch spot and a guava foraged roadside…yum!

Okay. Not ubiquitous, but super duper cool:


Rainbow eucalyptus trees – my favorite! Note: they do not taste like Skittles, but they *may* taste like a rainbow. I have not tasted a rainbow, but it’s possible that I licked one of these trees. πŸ˜‰

10 thoughts on “Jet Lag with a Side of Flora

  1. Gorgeous, Heather! Such tropical beauty. For some strange reason I didn’t have as much trouble with jet lag on our recent trip. Wonder why. There was a four hour difference and often when I’m in California I never adjust until it’s time to leave, and then suffer upon returning home. This time was so pumped that I stayed up regularly to 11 p.m. CA time and woke up chipper with the birds. Strange, huh? But can SO relate to jet lag challenges. Have experienced them over and over. But this weather switch…am not adjusting so gracefully. Forced myself out for a walk yesterday and think it might be OK now.

    • I thought CA was only 3 hours behind? Hmm. I’m glad your jet lag wasn’t so bad this trip. We’re slowly coming out of it. We are very fortunate that we can nap as needed. It’s funny that you stayed awake much later than usual. We were up each morning between 5 and 6, and were back in bed sometime around 9 each night. Travel is funny. We’ve been out a few times, but we have an ongoing flood watch because we’ve been inundated this weekend. Not great for taking a walk and deciding if I need to trash those shoes that gave me the worst blister I’ve ever had. But that’s a story for another post πŸ˜‰

  2. Wouldn’t it be nice to have a banana tree and one of the rainbow Eucalyptus trees in our yard? Or maybe more than one of each. Husband would love an avocado tree too. Ahhh, one can dream but we chose the wrong climate for any of them.

    • I would opt for the avocado and rainbow – or any – eucalyptus trees. We are having avocado quesadillas tonight, and it would make my day to have my own home-grown avocados for them. I had a strawberry papaya, the first papaya I’ve truly enjoyed, grown by the students at Meg’s school, and I might grow one of those too. But, we are like you…in the wrong climate. I shall be happy with my tomatoes and basil.

    • We had read about them in a guide book in 2009, but didn’t get to see them because it was raining (surprise!) in the rainforest. This time the weather was favorable and I made a special request. I feel like they’re straight out of Charlie in the Chocolate Factory, or some similar imaginarium!

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

