A Touch of Snow on the Glacial Hills

I’m sure you’ve all been fretting over my sanity, worrying that I might have been stuck inside one more day ๐Ÿ˜‰ Worry no more, because the weather was kind enough to let me outside this afternoon, even after all the not nice things I said about it yesterday.

Camera acquires protective scarf ๐Ÿ˜‰

A short ride up the road delivered us to the Glacial Hills Pathway, a place I had read about and we have driven by, but not explored. Since it’s still early in the season (which I’m officially calling “winter,” and I believe with Kathy’s blessing), I over-dressed. For near-freezing temps and low wind, wool socks, leggings, jeans, two long-sleeved shirts, scarf, hat, light gloves, and light-weight down coat were a tad over-the-top. By the end of the hike, I had unzipped my coat, lost the hat and gloves, and dressed my camera in my scarf.

Just steps down the trail we spotted signs of accumulation. O the excitement! Concerned that I might miss my one opportunity to photograph snow, I snapped some photos. I needn’t have worried. Our predicted dry skies were instead filled with our trademark lake effect snow, giving me lots to share (below).

Overall, the hike was unexciting, but it was an enjoyable trek through nicely aged hardwoods over rolling glacial hills (hence the name). Surrounded by a simple muted orange and green palette (there are still a lot of hardy ferns, grasses and mosses out there!), we were more finely attuned to detail. I found itty bitty mushrooms, snails crawling through mouldering leaves, and tiny sprouts of moss poking up through tufts of snow. My favorite sight of the day, though, were the saplings, draped in snow-and-water-drop lace.

Though the trail is exceptionally well-marked, we still managed to miscalculate the distance. One would think we’d have learned our lesson on that, but apparently one would be wrong. This time we only hiked about 4.3 miles, with only a ~3/4 mile surprise (as opposed to the ~11 instead of ~6 in the UP). We were only out for about two hours, but it was two glorious hours not inside. Up next, who knows?

Click any photo for a larger version/slideshow

13 thoughts on “A Touch of Snow on the Glacial Hills

    • I think I like the moss with the water drops on it, but really I was just so happy to be outside again. These probably aren’t the most compelling images I’ve shared, but it’s a good look at the woods in November. Thanks for joining our hike ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I think it was the vibrant green that earned the moss its mugshot ๐Ÿ˜‰
      The trails are very sedate. I think that once it’s no longer covered in slippery fall leaves it would be a great place to run.

  1. Beautiful there…love the moss coming up through the snow. And the rest. I am of two minds about winter being upon us. So not ready for months of cold…but the leaves are gone and I think I”m ready for some snow picture taking. Could use a few less weeks than we’re likely to have, but still….a little snow here and there is just fine.

    • I have the same trepidation, but since I can’t go back, I’m eager to to go forward. I really enjoy playing in the snowy winter wonderland up here, but I don’t like the seasonal transitions around winter. If I could just figure out a way to stash those days into another season…

  2. Outside my windows I see sunshine, quite warm sunshine at that for November with a temperature of just above 60, and from inside this warm house I’m much enjoying your photos of that frozen white stuff. Picking a favorite is hard, but I think I’ll go with the last one. The bright summer green gives hope.

    • I think we’re supposed to hit the low 50’s this week, but I’ll not hold my breath. If I could have a few more days of 50’s and 60’s, I might not push so hard for winter and snow, but I detest low 40’s/high 30’s and rain…which is what we’d been getting before things turned to snow. Enjoy your warm weather for me, too!

  3. Got this comment from a spammer (I think – it certainly looked like spam!). I didn’t want to link to a spam account, but the info was interesting:
    When those deposits take the form of hills or mounds, they are called kames . Some kames form when meltwater deposits sediments through openings in the interior of the ice. In other cases, they are just the result of fans or deltas towards the exterior of the ice produced by meltwater. When the glacial ice occupies a valley, it can form terraces or kame along the sides of the valley.

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

