On a Mission at Mission Point

First things first: Apologies to email readers and RSS subscribers that I keep hitting publish before titling posts!

If I’m honest, things are not going great with the insulation. Actually, if I’m honest, things are not going at all. It was 70 degrees (21 C) here today – 70! In November! – it wasn’t raining, and we’re looking at rain followed by snow for the next few days. Perhaps we’ll get around to the important stuff inside when we don’t have such a fetching reason to be outside.

After lunch today, we hit the road with trails in mind. We didn’t have a specific destination in mind, just that we didn’t want to go too far afield, and I wanted water views. We cruised around the base of the Old Mission Peninsula, speculating about which houses that we cannot possibly afford would be well-suited for future purchase…after we’ve made our millions šŸ˜‰ We ended up at the trails on the far side of Haserot Beach, way up on the tippy-top of the OMP.

It was a great choice. We hadn’t been there since June 2011: it was the first hike I took on my fresh-from-cast ankle, and it was nice to return when I didn’t have to watch my steps so carefully. It felt more like June than November today, but the scenery looked the part. The trail winds through brown, grassy meadows, into leafless forest, and down to the lake. The sun glowed intermittently through the patchy clouds, before diving behind a thick bank, which sucked all color from the sunset.

The wind is gusting ferociously now, blowing in unpleasant weather. I’m glad we grabbed a few good hours while we could. Now if you’ll excuse me, I still have insulation to install šŸ™‚

Click any picture for a larger version + slideshow

5 thoughts on “On a Mission at Mission Point

  1. I’ll come over and help with your insulation – as soon as I finish vacuuming up the layers of dog hair and brushing off the layers of dust. Those things that will return five minutes after I eradicate them. But before I could start that, it was necessary for me to enjoy the fruits of your hike. So now I’ll go get something productive done – oh wait, first I must read the rest of my blogs! So, later I’ll go do something productive.

    • Isn’t funny how important other things become when faced with a truly un-fun task? We insulated about half of our duct work in the basement last year, but managed not to buy more insulation until the other day. I don’t think it’s helping much sitting on the floor šŸ˜‰ I suspect with the wind and general cruddiness outside, that we might *actually* hang that stuff. Good luck conquering the pet hair. If you figure that out, let me know!

  2. I can remember hitting the publish button before titling the post, too. One, two, three times… Good luck with that insulation, Ms. Heather. You know what we’ve discovered lately? We built this house 30 years ago and put tons of effort & money into it. Now, all these years later, it needs tons more work. It never ends… and, hey, is it freezing cold down there today? It’s a high in the 20’s today, brrrrr….

    • I usually try to title my posts before I write and then it’s like a little guiding thought. Sometimes I just can’t come up with anything…and then I forget. Oops šŸ™‚
      This house was built in the 1960’s, and I suspect it could use some blown-in insulation, but I just can’t see making that happen. The ductwork in the basement was exposed, so we got about half of it covered last year. It definitely made a difference, but last year’s warm winter didn’t encourage good housekeeping.
      We are a bit warmer – 30’s – but it is WINDY. Stay warm šŸ™‚

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

