Sweet Escape

Phew, this month is taking its toll on me. Instead of complaining about it, though, I’ve taken a lesson from Bambi and chosen to remain quiet. Ish. Thus explains my recent blogging break. Regardless, this weekend was supposed to bring more of the same icky weather, and we had planned to spend it in the basement, finishing our insulation installation. I’ve talked before about my quick-onset cabin fever, but Tony can usually hold out longer than me. However, early this afternoon, he checked the radar, saw a clear patch, and suggested we get the heck outta Dodge the house.

Our forecast insisted we had a 90% chance of being rained on, so we didn’t plan any hiking. Instead, we headed to the lighthouse in Frankfort, which afforded us the opportunity to take in the balmy air without venturing too far from the car. The air was thick and the sky overcast, but we enjoyed our freedom from the couch. We wandered along the pier and beach for a bit, and then, lo – out came the sun! At least I’m pretty sure it was the sun…it’s been a while πŸ˜‰

We dropped by Point Betsie as the sun inched toward the horizon, soaking up the remaining rays of the day (the sun sets at 5:15, can you believe it??) before returning to town. After a quick dinner, we took a couple of laps at the park, adding a few more miles in the dark to our recent log. I’m not sure what tomorrow will bring, but if you’ll excuse me, we have some insulation to put up πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “Sweet Escape

    • It was way prettier than I had expected after the day started out so thick with clouds πŸ™‚ It just seems special when the air is dense enough to let us see the sun’s outline clearly.

  1. I am so happy you got outside, because that gave us more beautiful photos to enjoy. That, and it increased the chances that you would retain your sanity a bit longer.

  2. Sigh. My folks got married in 1954 and spent their honeymoon in an army pup tent near Pt. Betsie. Every time I go there (maybe a couple times in the past 5 years) I get really quiet, looking for them walking down the beach. I’m pretty sure they’re still there somewhere. Thanks for the quick trip without putting miles on the car.

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

