Another Night of Northern Lights

Those clear skies I half-heartedly complained about brought us excellent viewing conditions for the aurora tonight (last night?). I started the night by photographing out one of our north-facing windows. When the aurora kicked up again a bit later, we drove to a spot on Torch Lake, and I took a series of photos there. At this point I know two things: 1) I love living here, and 2) I seriously need a tripod – the books, coolers, silicone pot holders, etc. are not awesome. Enjoy 🙂  (Also, for those who usually ask, feel free to share if you know anyone who would also enjoy)

I’m including both a gallery with larger pictures and a slideshow. The slideshow gives you a better feel of what it’s like to see the aurora in person, but the gallery makes the pictures look better. Your choice 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


17 thoughts on “Another Night of Northern Lights

    • It’s truly an odd thing to see. In many ways, I feel like I’m watching a fireworks display, on silent. I hope you get to see them in person, too 🙂 Love you!

  1. I lived in the UP for 8 years and don’t remember a single time I saw this. Not to say it didn’t, but I either didn’t pay attention or was so used to it that’s it’s a no-big-deal in my memory. How sad because I really wish I had these memories!

    • The sun has been super active this year, and should continue to be for a few more months. They can be easy to miss, and often don’t look so spectacular to the naked eye. Being able to leave the shutter open for a long time helps to get these images. We have definitely been lucky seeing them!

    • Indeed! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed 🙂 I had every intention of going to bed “early” (at 12:00am), and didn’t go to bed until 3:00. I can’t say it wasn’t worth it, but I am in need of a coffee!

    • You get mountains topped in snow, I get occasional northern lights. Thank goodness for picture sharing 🙂 It really is awe-inspiring. I think the coolest thing about it is how you expect it to make noise – at least sound breezy like the wind is shifting things about – but it is completely quite. All that light and movement, and it’s simply silent. Hopefully you’ll get to see them in person sometime.

    • I think now through spring is supposed to be a good time, if you get the chance to travel Up North. We get text alerts so that we know when to look up. Maybe we’ll even get some solar activity strong enough to see them downstate. Regardless, I’m so glad you enjoyed 🙂

    • I actually think that you could have seen them tonight around 8pm if it hadn’t been cloudy. But, so far this year they’ve been occurring late, even keeping me up well past my bedtime. I’ll do my best to take photos and share them 🙂

  2. Pingback: Howling at the Moon (and the Northern Lights) | Adventures in Michigan's Up North

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

