Through the White and Drifted Snow

Just in time for travel, a winter storm trudged across northern Michigan, dropping inches of mashed potatoes. I peeked out our bedroom window earlier to spy on the boys, and I am convinced they are as happy about the snow as we are, wet and lumpy as it is.


Taking their cue, I slogged through drifts up to my knees for about 40 minutes before lunch, snapping photos of high-piled branches. Heavy trees overhung normally clear paths through the woods, making a usually brief journey not brief at all. More trees are down, and I suspect more will fall in the intense winds over the next 24 hours. Standing amidst the tall trees as the gusts flung snow from their limbs, I felt like a mere mortal among Ice Giants.

Our little snow blower prefers powdery lake effect, and simply refused to chug through the heavy, wet mess. The shovel remains undaunted, though its engine was weary before the driveway was clear. Thank goodness we aren’t relying on the little GTI today; the snowy roads are simply stacked too high.

Perhaps a snow plow will come. Either way, I think we’re going to have a white Christmas. In northern Michigan. If I don’t see you before then, Merry Christmas, Everyone! (If you don’t celebrate Christmas, just have a wonderful day!)

15 thoughts on “Through the White and Drifted Snow

    • Thanks for stopping by! I find that I am always hoping for snow πŸ˜‰ I used to think I was a summer person, and even lived in Miami, FL for a few years, but we missed the seasons. Now that I have a true winter, I think I would much rather have that than hot days. (I still want at least mild days where I can wear shorts, but now I’m just being picky πŸ˜‰ ) Wishing you just the right amount of snow, even if I am a day late for Christmas.

  1. Our snow continues to fall and the wind continues to blow, although a bit less right now than it has been. It does make for a beautiful wonderland out there, but this has been going on for enough days already. Time for it to stop and let us enjoy the white ground with perhaps a bit of sunshine making it sparkle.

    • I have no idea what the weather Up North is doing, but down here in southern Ohio, we are expecting ice and snow. Ick. Just the snow please. I’m glad your loved ones made it home safely and that you’ve even spied the sun for a few hours πŸ™‚

    • Yes Jody, the boys are the horses πŸ™‚ Are you sure you want even half of it? That’s still about 7 inches. We are headed back home tomorrow, but hope you and Mom and Dad have a great time!

  2. Over the river and through the woods, to your loved ones you did go… How MUCH snow do you have back at home near Torch Lake right now? I am sure you have more than we do. I actually just went hiking in the woods in my short books–only 2-3 inches on the ground right now.

    • I’m not sure how much it has smushed down, but we got 14 inches by the time we left here last Friday. We’ve had a few flakes of lake effect that don’t seem to have amounted to much, but there must not have been any sun while we were away, since the trees still hold their snow piles. I think we’re going to go watch some people ski…might feel good enough to go tomorrow πŸ™‚

    • I’m glad I can provide a vicarious glimpse at the snow πŸ™‚ We are loving having all of it to look at – last winter was a dud. Hoping tomorrow we’ll feel up to going out and playing in it.

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

