Keweenaw Harbors and Other UP Sweet Spots

Since I’ve already posted nearly 2,000 words about our UP trip, I’m going to wrap it up here, mostly in pictures.

Saturday we made our best attempts to see the lighthouses at the tip of the Keweenaw Peninsula. We had decided that we would not be adventuring, but would take photos from the car. We shoulda known better. Our very first stop we decided it would be a great idea to scramble out on the massive mountains/shelf of ice on Lake Superior. We were in no danger of falling into the lake. Which is not to say we were in no danger of falling.

Once we arrived in Eagle Harbor, I gave in and put the snowpants back on. No use pretending. Tony stayed back like a sensible person. I however, ventured out and up onto the blue ice aiming for a unique winter perspective on the lighthouse. Anyone have a guess why only part of it is painted white?

Pleased with our success in Eagle Harbor, we looked forward to seeing the Copper Harbor Lighthouse…which we did, but from a distance. Whatever road actually goes over there was unmarked and completely buried in snow. Much like many of the roads in the UP. Or here for that matter. (A nearby town has had over a foot of snow in the last twenty-four hours and could get that much more by tomorrow night!)

Copper Harbor Lighthouse

Copper Harbor Lighthouse


The roads down to McClain State Park were clear though – by our standards – so we went there for sunset. We shuffled along the deep snow covering the park’s lakeside road, wishing for our snowshoes. When it became evident that the night was going to arrive sneakily, with no sunset celebration, we headed “home,” and paid our karma forward. On a complete whim we drove down a road from which a sign had indicated we would be able to see Isle Royale. As we neared the bottom we spotted a truck angled oddly into the snow bank. They didn’t have a shovel and neither did we, but with three pushers and one driver, we happily got them unstuck. I gotta say – it was gratifying to be able to help when we had so recently been in their figurative shoes.

We spent the better part of Sunday driving back south. A few stops for photos, and a stop in Escanaba for coffee (and toasted marshmallow coffee syrup!). We had a good trip, but as always, we were glad to be home. I think it’s that way for everyone. What do you think?

Hmm. Looks like I failed that being brief thing. Maybe next time ๐Ÿ˜‰


12 thoughts on “Keweenaw Harbors and Other UP Sweet Spots

    • Aww, that’s sweet ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll own the boredom. I was good for the first couple of entries, but then I felt like things we just dragging on. No worries about missing the chilly details though – I’ve got a photo backlog, it’s snowing like crazy out, and we won’t see 32F for a while if the forecast is honest.

      • Geez. It was 30 this morning and I thought I was going to perish in the cold wind. Thankfully it warmed up to 66 and I put my capris and flip flops back on ๐Ÿ™‚

        • The funny thing about weather is you adjust. I remember a time when I lived in Miami – I was sitting out in the sunshine in pants and a t-shirt, 76F…and I was freezing. Skip to today: yoga pants, longsleeve shirt, coat, wet hair and a hat. Sweating as my hair froze while shoveling the embarrassing amount of snow off our driveway.

  1. Heather you do love to live on “the edge” of Lake Superior. ๐Ÿ™‚ Is it totally safe to go out on the ice and how does one know that the lake ice is completely solid. My Grandpa (paternal) was from Eagle Harbor, Michigan and other kin very distant live in and around Traverse City. However I believe that I am repeating myslef. sorry. Shall not write of it again. Have no idea why they decided to migrate to Texas. I have no inclinationn to look up any of the distant kin. To me it would be odd to say the least. Guess my grandpa and who ever came with him or brought him to Texas were tired of all the cold weather. As much as I do no like hot weather, I could not make it where you live. Cold is bad for me but so is the heat -so I have to be careful.

    You are not too wordy. I read every bit of what you write- almost ๐Ÿ™‚ Just joking with you. It is all very interesting to me for you live in a totally different world from what we have where I live.

    So why is the lighthouse painted partially white? The photos were wonderful as usual.

    • When the ice will support mountains of other ice that far outweigh you, that’s a good sign. We never get too close to the “face” of the ice. There’s a definite edge beyond which you can watch huge “ice cubes” undulate in the incoming waves – and we stay back from that. Also, if there are lots of ice fishermen out, that’s a good sign. At least some of them take measurements (Kathy would know more!).
      And that lighthouse being partially white? I have no idea – I was sincerely hoping someone would have a guess!

    • Thank you, and yes we did. Thankfully we are comfortable together on long car rides, since we seem to spend an inordinate amount of time road-tripping. Is road-tripping a thing in the UK like it is here? (Sorry for both my ignorance and assumption – the assumption based on the email address that only I see…)

  2. Love the red chairs best! Do I take it you didn’t go to Heikinpaiva? Seems like you opted to go up to the Keweenaw instead. More beautiful pics, Ms. Heather.

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

