Wonderful Winter Wednesday

Today was a perfect Up North day. The sun rose through a light morning haze, painting the sky a light peach before burning off the clouds. By mid-morning, blue skies dominated and temperatures soared – all the way up to 30F (-1C)! By the time the afternoon rolled around, I had a serious case of cabin fever. I stretched the Yak Trax onto my trail shoes and went for a walk with Mom.
snowy walk

We chatted about this and that, and caught up on the other. She lamented her gray Ohio skies; I delighted in my bright blue. Then before I knew it, Rocky – my neighbor/neighbor’s horse – was yelling at me for walking down his road. Back at the house, I had Tony grab my camera (you don’t walk on your nice wood floors with metal springs strapped to your boots), and I hurried out again for some photos that I just couldn’t live without.

All told, it was a five mile adventure, and I felt so much better for having been out. Half an hour later, I was eating a gourmet sandwich peanut butter sandwich in anticipation of a night filled with skiing. We met Jim at Shanty Creek in time to watch the sun set from the lift. In almost three hours, we waited in line about three times. Otherwise, it was a night of lift, ski, repeat with no wait-time in between.

These were taken last Saturday morning at Shanty Creek – the night shots are not as interesting πŸ˜‰

My cheeks are flushed, my legs are tired, and I am sleepy. I can’t think of a better way to end a winter day.

16 thoughts on “Wonderful Winter Wednesday

  1. How nice that you were able to walk with your mom. And I’m happy to see Shanty Creek again! (Now where was that fence at the bottom of the hill, lol?)

    • I suppose I should have put walking in quotes. I walked, she did Mom things at her home in Ohio πŸ˜‰
      As for the fence, I am pretty sure they removed it. That big black run that was so awful to you is still there though…

      • You mean your mom wasn’t there in PERSON? Did I not read this carefully enough again? Sheezsh. Guess what? I’m vaccuuming and cleaning house–a bit–again–for the first time since you guys visited. Another friend is coming for lunch.

  2. Pingback: In which I run, and ski, and photograph the in betweens | Adventures in Michigan's Up North

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

