Weekly Photo Challenge: Change

Just the other day I was celebrating spring‘s (late) arrival to northern Michigan. I spoke too soon. It’s the middle of April, and Mama Nature is spiteful. She has coated my just-cleared patio with a thick blanket of ice and snow. We’re expecting a couple additional inches of snow, but farther north they’re going to get a disappointing foot of accumulation.

When The Daily Post issued their weekly photo challenge today, I knew just what to photograph.

Really looking forward to spring. Any day now.

hyacinth under snow

purple crocus buds in snow

icicles and purple crocus buds

icicles and crocus buds

26 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Change

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about more snow! It seems as relentless as the heat here 😦

    But the pictures, oh those pictures!!! So very representative of Spring – of new life bursting forth from an icy cage! And although I love the deep purple buds, that first picture is just superlative πŸ™‚ Beautifully done as always Heather πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Lady πŸ™‚
      The chance was short-lived. I went back out after lunch to see what I could grab, and it’s an entirely different landscape (and it hasn’t improved).

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: CHANGE | The Adventures of IΓ±igo Boy

  3. Awww….I’m so sad to see the crocus covered in ice. It’s just so wrong. And so normal. I guess. Still…makes me sad. We don’t have snow, but might get some tonight. The amount we get is nothing compared to you guys. We WOULD however like to stop getting rain every single day. They say it will rain for another week. At least. That makes me sad too.

    • The icy crocuses make me sad, too, but they’re the first flowers up in the spring, so they must be the most resilient. I’m sure they can handle it πŸ™‚
      And I’m just going to quit looking at the weather forecast. Is not knowing the news kind of like “no news is good news?” That’s what I’m sticking with!

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge Change | 2013 Weekly Photo Challenge Blog

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change | Flickr Comments

  6. Your despair is palpable Heather! Much as I have loved looking at your snowy winter, I really do wish Spring would hurry up and get there before you have a meltdown! (Sorry! couldn’t resist the pun! πŸ˜€ )

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change (Cahors – Going down the Aisle) | What's (in) the picture?

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change (Cahors – Walking down the Aisle) | What's (in) the picture?

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change (Malta – Just Married) | What's (in) the picture?

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change (Avebury – Sense making in Fashion?) | What's (in) the picture?

  11. Wow! Heather, these are amazing. Truly amazing. I love these pictures. We still have too much snow to have any flowers blooming, let alone being killed by snow and ice. Two more storms predicted this week. REALLY?

    • Thank you Ms. Kathy πŸ™‚ I’m not even sure how those flowers are doing now – we’ve been out west skiing and faced some pretty brutal weather a couple of the days. Spring will arrive for us all, sooner or later. I’ll keep dancing with you to see if we can inch it along a bit quicker πŸ˜‰

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

