Celestial Trifecta?

If you know anyone in this part of the world, you know we’re still not exactly making great strides with the whole spring thing. We are getting lots of sun, in terms of its time above the horizon (mostly behind the clouds, but who’s counting?), but that’s only because the sun is impervious to earthly weather vagaries.

We awoke to a fresh, albeit thin blanket of snow again today, but the cloudy skies eventually cleared, taking the accumulation as well. Even though it was only in the low 40s (6C), the sun felt warm on our post-work trek “around the block,” and I even took my coat off for the last half mile.

Back home, we did the dinner thing, marking three days in a row of the car staying parked in the garage. This is a big deal. We (me? I’m definitely a pusher) are perpetual house-leavers. I think it comes from working at home. That’s what I’m going with. Anyway, after all that staying super local and eating super healthy, it was time for a treat, so I packed up my camera for an ice cream-and-sunset on Torch Lake.


In addition to the mellow sunset – it was just nice to see a sunset – we discovered two new access points on Torch Lake. So you see, this is why we leave the house all the time: you never find new places if you stay at home πŸ˜‰ Another pleasant find was the near-full moon rising over the trees in Alden. Since it’s been so cloudy, I hadn’t been keeping an eye on the moon, but there she was, keeping an eye on me.

To top it all off, there’s some geomagnetic activity headed our way, so we might even see aurora tonight. With that full moon, though, and some clouds blowing back in later, I’ll not hold my breath. I’ve already learned that lesson with spring πŸ˜‰

17 thoughts on “Celestial Trifecta?

  1. Work was crazy yesterday, filled with crazy people…and I wondered if the moon was full. And guess what!? Full enough! Pretty. Love Torch Lake though have never been there. Glad you got out. I’m a getting out kind of person too and know how hard it is to stay put.

    • Dawn, I’m not sure you can attribute all of the craziness to the moon. After all, you did get snow again yesterday πŸ˜‰
      The next time you’re up, you should stop by Torch. But, it is a lot like Crystal Lake, the Glen Lakes, and Lake Leelanau, so if you’re short on time, perhaps not. Hopefully today isn’t so crazy!

    • Why thank you πŸ™‚ I think they’re going to have to hold me over for the next day, because it is DARK here this morning. So cloudy 😦 But at least no snow!

  2. The only “Trifecta” that immediately comes to my mind is the Seinfeld episode where George is trying his own trifecta of: Love making, eating a Pastrami on rye & watching T.V. all at the same time!…but I digress. lol. Sunsets never get boring and what’s amazing about photography is that no two are the same. I’ve seen pictures of northern Norway and they have some AMAZING northern light shows up there. I’d love to visit the Scandinavian countries someday. Please post some pics if you guys get some in the next few days.

    • Seinfeld is a show that I think has aged pretty well…if you can ignore the laugh track.
      The activity level was high enough that I could have gotten some shots…during the day, but it peaked around a Kp of 4 (we need 5 here) and then slowly drifted downward. One of these days I’d like to visit Iceland; the northern lights would be a huge bonus. I have several other posts of the aurora if you want to check them out. I think I’ve tagged them all with either/both “northern lights” and “aurora”, so they should show up pretty easily if you do a quick search.

  3. OMG!! The inset had me until I saw that Moon πŸ™‚ that’s the kind of Moon that makes it possible to understand her association with lunacy πŸ˜‰

    And you’re so right about never knowing what you might find once you step out that door! “The road goes ever on…” πŸ™‚ I want to be home-leaver too πŸ˜›

    • In part of an epic story I recently read there was another story about a guy who loved the moon. As in literally, and he followed her all over the earth, trying to capture her. It must’ve been the moon from the other night. (By the way, if you like Tolkien and Stephen King’s Dark Tower series, you should give Patrick Rothfuss’ Kingkiller Chronicles a try – cannot recommend highly enough)
      As for being a home-leaver, I think that stems partly (probably mostly) from working from home. Most people like to come home and relax after a day at work, but we relax at home all day at work πŸ˜‰

        • The Dark Tower series is the way to go with SK then. It’s a great, epic story…like SK does LOTR πŸ˜‰ Plus, he’s writing more to go with it and I can’t wait.
          The Rothfuss books are unquestionably the best things I’ve read in ages. The writing is great and the story may be even better. Unfortunately, it is a multi-book series of which he’s only written two. :-/

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

