{Semi-Homemade} Cherry Crumble

So…I hurt my back. I went to the chiropractor several times, and eventually got clearance to return to light workouts. Just as I was feeling pretty much normal, I fell apart again. Not that I can walk all that well anyway, but top it all off with it is snowing here, and we made plans to stay in yesterday.

cherry crumble in pan

I ended up on Pinterest, perusing the food category, and came across a blueberry breakfast cake that I’ve pinned but never made. I came away with an intense craving for fruity coffee cake, but not enough time or motivation to make one entirely from scratch. Fortunately for my craving (but not my waistline), I had a just-in-case box of cake mix in the pantry.

Just over an hour later, these were out of the oven and in my happy tummy. Now if the chiropractor can just make my back happy again…
cherry crumble-3

Cake Ingredients
1 box white cake mix
1 6-oz container fat-free Greek yogurt
2 eggs
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 cup water
2 teaspoons almond extract
2-1/2 cups sour cherries, pitted (can use frozen, just thaw first)

Crumb Topping
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
3/4 cup flour
1/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
dash salt
dash cinnamon

Directions
Preheat oven to 350-degrees. Grease and flour a 9×13 pan.
Mix all topping ingredients together until coarse crumbs form. Set aside.
Mix all cake ingredients except cherries according to instructions on box. Pour into prepared pan.
Dot with cherries, and then sprinkle topping over.
Bake for 50-60 minutes, or until a cake tester comes out clean.

10 thoughts on “{Semi-Homemade} Cherry Crumble

    • My back has been put in order again – feeling good šŸ™‚
      I only promise it will make you happy if it’s what you really want…more than you want to eat healthy šŸ˜‰ Of course, you could always share it out and just have a small treat.

  1. This looks great! AND I have frozen cherries that I picked last summer….hmmmm…..I usually make cherry pie when my family is here, but they haven’t been up from AL in a few years….just might sacrifice a bag of cherries for this! šŸ™‚

    • We’ve been eating fewer treats, so I haven’t kept many supplies on hand. I was craving some sweets though, so I compromised by adding the yogurt in place of oil šŸ˜‰ Any fruit would work, but you know how it is up here with the cherries!

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

