A Tale of Two Sunsets – On the Same Night

After an unusually hectic workday yesterday, we opted to simply take it easy in the evening. Whereas we often leave the house immediately following dinner (which immediately follows work – there’s no commute time when you work from home), last night we hung out with the cats and the backyard. That is, we stayed at home until about 8:00 when the sky was starting to look promising for a sunset.

We meandered our way toward the lake, stopping by the Rapid River in search of the vibrantly blooming marsh marigold. We found them, easily, but they weren’t in great light. They’re on another day’s to-do list now. As we pulled in the Alden Marina on Torch Lake, the sun had just slipped behind some clouds, shooting rays both above and below.
Torch Lake sun rays

We watched this light-play for nearly half an hour, and I practiced my panoramas.

Vertical panorama:
Torch Lake sun rays vertical panorama

Traditional horizontal panorama: (Click for full-size version)
Torch Lake sun rays panorama

The clouds on the horizon thickened, and eventually we decided that the show was over. As we headed back to the car, the sun slid into a small gap, illuminating the sky in a Caribbean palette. Some things are worth waiting for.


Torch Lake tropical sunset - Alden
bench with a view

20 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Sunsets – On the Same Night

    • I know! We definitely thought the sun was going to drop behind the wall of clouds and then the sky would just fade. The color had already started to leach out of the eastern clouds. Glad we lingered just a bit longer 🙂

  1. We took pictures that look similar to your’s of the sunset last evening. Ours show farm fields and forests to the east of Cassopolis, MI. We were on our way home to Mishawaka, IN from attending our granddaughter’s softball game in Marcellus, MI. The view of the sunset was beautiful only one of the big lakes could’ve made them better. Glad I got to see yours.

    • For something that happens every single day, sunrises and sunsets hold a surprising amount of magic 🙂 Being a farmgirl myself, I wouldn’t be disappointed with your versions either. Thanks for the comment 🙂

    • It helps that I don’t get up till after 8:30 most days 😉
      Wish my circadian rhythm was shifted back an hour or two, but in the summer I’m glad I’m not bed-bound before our late night sunsets!

  2. You are right…now that you said it, a person DOES have to practice the panoramic shots. They’re not that easy to line up correctly. I have several disappointing shots myself. Hmmm…had not thought about practicing them. And I LOVE the shots, both vertical and traditional…and then the one with the bench!? Perfect!

    • Thanks so much for the kind words Dawn 🙂
      It takes quite a bit of fiddling to get your tripod lined up just right, and then you have to make sure you’ve got all the settings dialed in…and that you don’t accidentally adjust the focus…and that you leave enough overlap. But I’m having fun with it, and I feel like I’m improving…and it gives me one more reason to get out and explore, which is my favorite thing!

  3. Pingback: Sour Cherries Sweeten the Day | Adventures in Michigan's Up North

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

