A Dazzling Night {Aurora!!}

What an intense couple of days we’ve had! Thursday night thunderstorms roared through with what we thought were 30-mph winds that killed our power for over seven hours. Once chainsaw crews rode in and restored power, we discovered that we’d experienced a microburst, which brought 70-mph straight line winds with 90-mph gusts. So that explains all the trees on the power lines and roads, and why it sounded like there was a train in my bedroom.

Trees across the road east of the house. We were blocked in to the west, too
storm damage

Thankfully, yesterday was fairly uneventful like days following storms tend to be. Our friends came over for a Short’s trip + scary movie night. Aside from the beer, I’ve never had anything at Short’s that I didn’t love. And if I liked beer, I’d presumably be in the boat with practically everyone else who loves what they brew. So, don’t take my word for it about the beer ๐Ÿ˜‰

Once we got back home, we all chatted a bit, and wandered about outside, enjoying the perfect weather. Jess and I traipsed out to the back of the pasture for sunset views, and then we came back to decide upon the scary movie.

Sunset success – (click for larger version)
pastoral sunset

And that’s when I remembered that Tony had gotten me Just Dance 4 – a dancing game for the kinect that he is never ever ever going to play with me. We kicked the guys out and butchered the moves danced merrily for an hour and a half…until Tony came in and alerted us that we had possible aurora.

Since we’re both such camera nerds, Jess and I drove away from the house in search of clearer skies. We were gone for about an hour before giving up and coming home sadly bereft of the northern lights which were surely obfuscated by unwelcome clouds. I proceeded to have a midnight snack (Greek yogurt; it could be much worse) and Jess promptly fell asleep on the couch.

Ever the optimist, I kept creeping back out to the driveway for some sign of stars and light. Clouds, clouds, clouds. Oh wait, there’s something. Clouds, clouds, clouds…sigh.

And then, possibilities expanding: “Tony come see if you think this is worth it.” And then, “Jess wake up! Jim, you guys it’s awesome!

So, no movie, but we did watch the aurora flicker and pulse and not make any noise while dazzling us for hours. (Tony and I went to bed at 4:30 – yikes!)

I’ve chosen some of my favorites for inclusion here in larger version (click for even bigger views), but I’m posting a slideshow of 100+ images that haven’t even been cropped straight just so you can get an idea of what it’s like in person. Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚
large aurora

large aurora-4

large aurora-3

large aurora-2

11 thoughts on “A Dazzling Night {Aurora!!}

    • Definitely not imagining it Carol! I have 40 or so photos that are super-bright, too, but are cloud covered. Maybe I’ll post them another day.
      But we could see the pulsing and flashing even with some cloud cover. It was by far the coolest and most intense aurora since 2011 (that we’ve seen).

  1. Pingback: Aurora [Northern Lights] Slideshow | Adventures in Michigan's Up North

    • Thanks for stopping to pause Suzi! I’m sure Escanaba had a good show last night (assuming they weren’t too covered in clouds), but I bet your window for seeing the aurora in Western MA would have been a small timeframe between 2:00am and 3:00am. So glad you could at least see them here ๐Ÿ™‚ Many thanks to Kathy!

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

