October Skies in July

I awoke this morning to a lovely cold front blowing in. I looked out the kitchen window as I gathered items for our breakfast smoothies, took one look at the thick wall of clouds, grabbed my camera, tied on some shoes, and dashed for the door – leaving frozen berries and all in a pile on the counter. In my rush, I swished the remnants of last night’s storm onto my legs, but that was okay; I was going to be in time for a beautiful capture of our neighbors’ red barn under moody skies while bathed in warm morning sun.

Except that didn’t happen. Because I had neglected to switch out my dead battery (I don’t usually let them get that low!) for a charged one. And by the time I trekked back indoors to make the change, the clouds had rolled in far enough that the scene wasn’t nearly as compelling. Sigh. At least the smoothies were good.

And, even though temperatures didn’t rise out of the 60’s (I checked the calendar – it is indeed still July), we basked in the luxury of open windows and fresh breezes all day. In my book, this is a win over last week’s 90-degrees (Be careful what you wish for? Sheesh.), which required constant air conditioning for comfort.

The day was not a photographic loss, though. The thick clouds that announced the arrival of the front eventually broke up, dotting the sky dramatically. We chased the light after dinner, and I came away with the images below. I was hoping for a likewise lovely sunset, but the skies had cleared too much. I’m hoping presently that the clear skies have remained, and I’ll have a shot at the Milky Way. Wish me luck πŸ™‚

Click any photo to embiggen*


* “Embiggen” is a “word” I’ve borrowed from my current favorite wordsmith, Patrick Rothfuss. If you enjoyed Lord of The Rings, I cannot recommend his work highly enough.

15 thoughts on “October Skies in July

    • I’m glad we got out, too. It’s easy this time of year with the late sunsets. The cool air reminds me, though, that in a few months, there won’t be a scrap of light in the sky after dinner.
      Embiggen. Patrick Rothfuss stumbled onto a gem there. I’m sticking with it πŸ˜‰

    • It’s nice…just not very July. And while you’ve been bathed in hot weather this year, we had that looooooong winter, and I’m not ready to give up the heat just yet πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you Pat.
      I’ve since changed, recharged, and repacked. Hopefully I won’t be stuck with *just* having to enjoy the scenery again soon πŸ˜‰

  1. Oh I know that feeling….have had the dead battery syndrome myself…and I have a spare too. 😦 More often I’m taking the dog out for her early morning thing and notice the light. Make her RUN back to the house to get the camera…she actually responds now to “Let’s go get the camera!” and RUN back outside and it is NEVER NEVER NEVER the same by the time we get there! πŸ™‚ Light changes so fast.

    Know what you mean about not wanting to give up the summer yet after that winter just passed. Have noticed one maple tree turning already…the crab apples have a red blush on them. AND there was a burning bush starting to go yesterday! NOOOOOOOO!

    • I’ve also seen a turning maple, and just noticed my burning bush starting to blush. I refuse to look closely at my crab apples! It feels silly to be dreading the upcoming season when it’s still July, but it sure didn’t feel like July this weekend (nor right now). I love winter, but I don’t love winter in May. Ah well. All my wishes and complaints aren’t likely to change a thing.

  2. Embiggen! Oh, I love this word, too. Looks like your day was embiggened since morning. (Right usage? lol!) Is it cold your way today? 50’s this weekend. Shameful for the last week in July.

    • I love “embiggen,” and since it’s clearly new in the American English lexicon, I think we can still work out all the proper ways in which it might be used πŸ˜‰ And yes, this weekend was utterly shameful for July. And I had company to whom I apologized like I could fix it. Hoping today shapes up better. Even though they left this morning.

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

