A Late Summer Dune Adventure

I’ve been away from the blog again for a while. I just can’t seem to keep it together lately. We just returned from a week with our families in southern Ohio, and it always takes a few days to get back into our normal routines. We like to let the cats settle into our presence again before going off gallivanting, leaving them alone once more πŸ˜‰

I think I must have blinked at some point this season. I know that it was summer, but while my eyes were closed, this happened:


My barberries have turned many shades of red, the grapes have ripened, and my cherry tomatoes have gone riotous. I am making myself sick on late summer produce. I can’t decide whether that’s bad…so it must be good. Yes, that makes sense.

By yesterday the cats had settled in just the right amount for us to disturb them. (This is kind of a joke, but only kind of. Our cats are really only happy if we are both sitting on the couch like when we’re working. They do not think we belong anywhere else. We disagree.) The weather was late-summer perfect (breezy, warm-but-not-hot, sunny), so we dressed for a hike. We did not know where we were headed, except out. A friend suggested a hike in the Sleeping Bear Dunes park, so that’s where we ended up.

All wide shots are multi-frame panoramas, and can be clicked for more detailed versions
SBD - park interior

My bearded husband played the part of the hippy – hiking barefoot – while I played NatGeo photographer – packing around my camera and too much gear. We marched happily along the loop trail, enjoying the different angle on the views we see so frequently from other park locales.
dune panorama - small
Glen Lakes from dunes
The Glen Lakes

The hike was short, and incredibly mellow thanks to the dearth of tourists. They have flocked elsewhere (presumably south) with the recent turning of the calendar page, and honestly, it’s good to have our homeland back. I’m looking forward to spending more time with it before autumn burns its way into our landscapes.

12 thoughts on “A Late Summer Dune Adventure

  1. Yours is a lovely autumn with the very best colors – the blues, greens and reds. What more could one ask? That question will not be directed towards your cats.

    • Cats are silly creatures. They might act all independent, but I know better πŸ˜‰
      I find I’m actually looking forward to fall just the slightest bit. We had a brief summer, but I always enjoy the season change. You might not relate exactly, but there’s something special about snuggling into a warm sweater with a hot beverage (…for months on end, ha!).

  2. Oh look at the dunes! Beautiful, beautiful, sandy. I suspect you’ll feel more like blogging when cold weather strikes. Maybe. I like the word “dearth”. Must think of more opportunities to slip it into conversation.

    • Sounds like you’ve had a dearth of opportunities thus far πŸ˜‰
      I agree with you about the blogging weather changes. Hopefully I’ll undergo a whole attitude adjustment. I’ve been feeling cranky lately, along the lines I mentioned on FB. It turns me into a hermit until I get things all sorted out in my brain. I’ll get there. Hopefully it doesn’t take the fall color to do it!

      • I feel like I’m in junior high or high school on FB. Like it’s a strange popularity contest…or something…? Can’t quite articulate it. I don’t like how I react. So glad to hear you feel (somewhat) the same way, too. Sweet hug, cranky one. πŸ™‚

    • You haven’t seen the quantities of grapes and tomatoes I’ve been downing πŸ˜‰
      But, really, I agree – I LOVE the availability (in my own yard even!) of fresh food this time of year. The flavors aren’t even close in the dark months.

    • Barberries are common thorny landscaping plants around here. Lots of varieties. Best of all – the deer and turkeys don’t eat them. On account of they’re not stupid and avoid the thorns πŸ˜‰
      The tomatoes are nearly gone now 😦 And my cats agree heartily!

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

