A Little Overwhelmed

Last week our friend from college flew here from Maui to visit. I’m not sure how we’ve built such a strong friendship, except that we just click. She and I had a few classes together in Miami, FL (I think three), and then she moved back to Maine to complete her college career. We were all very busy, going to school full-time and working full-time, but like I said – we just clicked.
Tony and Meg

Thirteen years later, we are still busy, and we live thousands of miles apart, but we still click. We spent all of last week together adventuring, so I have loads of pictures and stories to share – which is at the root of my feeling overwhelmed. It’s not a bad thing at all. So, this morning, instead of dealing with all that looming goodness (that just happens to be represented by a ton of effort ahead), I ventured out to capture the post-cold front beauty of my backyard view.

While I work on gathering the threads of my yarn, here’s so fall splendor for your delight. I hope you enjoy the colors while I get to work not working πŸ˜‰ (We are off for the orchard soon, you see…)

pasture pano

Not quite the backyard. A couple miles down the road, at Rugg Pond


18 thoughts on “A Little Overwhelmed

  1. Ahhh yes, that fall “collection conniption”! Just beautiful. The pictures of the small falls in the pond with the swans are especially eye-catching. For me at least. I look forward to the photos taken during the last week with your friend.

    • My experience with swans is that they aren’t nearly as nice as they look. This group, though, swam over to us from the far edge. Some might interpret this as a bold display of food beggary. I, however, am convinced they just wanted to greet us and give me the opportunity to share them with you πŸ™‚

  2. I have to agree with Carol! Beautiful pictures..and the shots of the swans/falls make you feel as if you could wet your hands by touching the screen!

    • I’ll have to take you to this place next time you’re up. It’s just a couple minutes away, and I think you’ll enjoy it in person just as much as the photos. Glad you loved the swans πŸ™‚

  3. Ooooh ahhhhhh–the swans! I do so like how you composed the pics with the dam or waterfalls beneath them. (Damn waterfalls? lol.) Deep breaths, Heather. Long slow deep breaths. It will all get done!

    • Definitely had a dorky grin at “damn waterfalls” πŸ˜‰
      You say deep breaths – you should see the pile of work emails I have to plow through now…14 pages!! But yes, I’ll get through it all, and it will happen without me over-stressing it. Besides – it’s gotta be easier than teaching a foreign language πŸ˜‰

    • Glad you liked it πŸ™‚
      It’s all stuff I enjoy, but with 14 pages of work emails to sludge through, the fun stuff is still looming because it’s just not going to get done as soon as I’d like. Sigh…

    • I’m glad that you must have a friend like this, too. It seems a bit fairy tale, but sometimes art imitates life πŸ˜‰ Thank you for the kind words and pausing to enjoy the scenery!

  4. Nothing better than the kind of friendship that just picks up where you left off no matter the time nor distance. Lovely lovely lovely photos. Fall is overwhelming regardless of how you look at it…every single year. But what a wonderful place you have there to help take the edge off.

    • I don’t have many friends, but I am blessed to have more than one friend like this, which is truly special.
      Fall is still astonishing. I think it’s paying it forward so that we have lots of colorful photos to relive during our long winters πŸ˜‰

  5. Pingback: Fudgies Head North | Adventures in Michigan's Up North

  6. I totally hear you when you use the word ‘click’ πŸ™‚ It happens so rarely….
    What do you do for work Heather? I realize I have no clue.
    Beautiful pictures, as usual, and such bright colours πŸ™‚

    • I’m glad you know what it’s like to “click.” That means you’ve got a clicker πŸ™‚
      As for work – I work for a company based 1,000 miles south in Atlanta, GA. Husband worked there before we moved, and then they offered me a job. I aggregate news on hospitals and health systems which goes out in a newsletter to our customers who sell things to hospitals. We don’t do anything with patient data – just boring stuff like executive leadership changes, major construction projects, mergers/acquisitions. I am not sure how it makes money, but I guess I’m glad it does since I have a job πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

