A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

The first snow of the season fell overnight Monday. The light dusting melted shortly after the sun crested the horizon. I’m only okay with it because it left the fallen leaves with water freckles.

Bands of lake effect rain/snow blew through all day, bringing brief showers, bouts of sunshine, and intensely dramatic skies. It was truly distracting. I’d look out the window (squirrel!) to be greeted with golden sun-kissed leaves backed by a broody sky, and have to rush off in search of the rainbow that must be overhead.

It wasn’t in my yard, where I kept expecting to see it, but that didn’t stop me from repeatedly hopping off the couch – away from my job – in a hurry to capture a bit of the fleeting autumnal splendor just steps away. Sure I had to work late this evening, but look at all those beautiful fall images (and all within short walking distance of home)! You can hardly tell winter is trying to creep in πŸ˜‰
[Edit: Yes you can. See photos from this morning.]

15 thoughts on “A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

    • Thanks Lady πŸ™‚ I figured it was a crowd favorite and there was no point fighting it when I felt like I needed to change up the header. I updated from summer, but feel like I missed it with all this snow…

    • Freckles is fitting, isn’t it? If freckles on one’s face can be called sun’s kisses, I don’t see why water droplets can’t be leaf freckles. I just love how they bring out detail on the leaf…and they seem to form most often on the underside of leaves giving that bit of the plant some glory πŸ˜‰

  1. These pictures made my heart contract….with joy and sadness in equal measure! Perhaps it has to do with the words ‘fleeting autumnal beauty’ πŸ™‚ I saw the snowy pictures before clicking on this post. The transformation is simply breathtaking.

    • That’s exactly how fall is! It’s a long, sad, beautiful goodbye before the austerity of winter sets in. I don’t know why I ever feel sad about it, but I do. Fall honesty makes me behave like I have ADD – I cannot sit still for running to catch glimpses of the beauty. And it’s not like I stay inside during the winter, mourning summer’s loss. Why should fall bring about the happy/sad conundrum while spring is just happy?

  2. Am on reading marathon now that the guests are done! What a wonderful post to be starting with – Fall is my favorite season. Those colors are to die for! I wish we had them here but were still green! Love your header! Neat perspective πŸ™‚

    • OhMyGoodnessGracious! You were on a marathon! I’m so glad you have you back – and hope things are going well at home for you.
      Ah fall – looking in the rearview, it seems like it was so fleeting. Our trees are naked now. I’m hoping for more snow to distract me from the dreariness. Fingers crossed πŸ˜‰

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

