Rewards and Traditions

I had a doctor’s appointment yesterday, to which I arrived early, and – would you believe this? – they  took me straight back! Everything went well, and then I was outta there. For my doctor’s speediness, I rewarded myself with a cuppa joe (decaf maple cinnamon latte, please) and a photo drive up the peninsula.

When the leaves have blown away from the inland trees, the vineyards on the Old Mission Peninsula can be counted on for some cheerful last vestiges of color. Alas, the peninsula’s late-to-change-color leaves seem to have suffered this year – probably related to the recent snow. The drive was still beautiful, but ochers dominate where ambers normally do.

I hadn’t really intended to drive all the way to the tippy-top of the peninsula, but by the time I reached my destination vineyard, I was close. And I had finished that latte and needed a place to rest, if you catch my drift. A few visitors ambled around, enjoying the quiet repose. The lightest breeze breathed, barely stirring leaf litter and bay. I could have stayed much longer, but I remembered that I did have a job to return to.

But on such a pretty day (okay, the haze and clouds weren’t that great, but don’t tell Yesterday Me that), I couldn’t go straight home.
leaves hugging a barn
I had previously tried to photograph this barn, but wasn’t happy with the images. Try, try again, though. Yesterday, as I passed it on the way to the lighthouse park, I noticed a couple of bright red maple saplings – possible barn frames – and made a mental not to pull over on the way back by. I’m glad I tried again πŸ™‚

Nearing Rapid City, instead of taking the usual way home, I took the back way in, over an almost unmaintained rutted sand road. A terrific decision – look at this county road splendor!
country road

And it doesn’t stop there. A logging operation has created this giant, reflection-filled puddle. Looking both up and down is advisable as well.

I did eventually return home and to work. Then, because it is going to rain all day today through Saturday, we left (after work) for what is becoming a traditional post-peak color hike at the Sand Lakes Quiet Area. I’m not sure what draws us there each year, but it always seems like a good place to go once the fall fireworks have petered out. Perhaps it’s just a tradition? Do you have places like that? Those that seem to draw you back, year after year?

PS – Happy Halloween!
PPS – I finally created a Facebook page just for photos. If you want to check it out, please do. πŸ™‚

sand lakes
sand lakes-2

19 thoughts on “Rewards and Traditions

  1. I caught your drift about a place to rest, but it took a few seconds. πŸ™‚ Oh, Heather, your photos are truly amazing. You have talent, girl! I know that you don’t like the idea of this, but sometime, if you have $5 extra just try promoting one of your pics on Facebook. (Just don’t get addicted to this.) Your photos need to be seen. They cry out for it. I am your cheerleading section! (I did it three times on FB and probably won’t do it again unless utterly inspired, but am very glad to have tried.) ALSO you may get some more followers. OK, enough begging. You can become famous the slow way, too. *grin*

    • You know the funny thing is that when I was getting ready to head out, I *had* to check out this bright red tree at the end of the parking lot. I eventually emerged from the woods, camera in hand, to see a gentleman dismounting a bicycle (mid-60’s is my age guess). He says to me: “You’re taking photos. I’m going to go take something else!” Apparently *that’s* what the park is there for!
      As for the advertising on FB, we’ll see. I know you’ve shared your photos a few times, but I think I might be more of a cheapskate than you πŸ˜‰ Regardless, ThankyouThankyouThankyou! for being my cheerleader πŸ™‚

  2. It is happiness for me that I have met you and that you invite me on these wonderful drives and hikes. You take me places I would not otherwise see, and that brings pleasure to my heart. Thank you – again.

    >

    • Carol, I am SO happy to take you along on my little adventures. Thank YOU for coming! I’ll keep it up as long as you keep being non-committal in your Getting to Know You responses πŸ™‚

  3. Wonderful. Isn’t it cool what you find when you go home on a different road? I love doing that. Your photos are gorgeous. Love the barn and the red frame. And I have a photo of me and that little cabin in the park from years ago. Also very cool that you still find beauty after the leaves are gone, because it is there, for sure, but most people don’t notice.

    • I have photos of that little cabin in all the seasons, but I love it best shrouded in leaves.
      Finding the post-leaf beauty just takes a bit more work. But I like it. You find such unexpected treasures πŸ™‚

  4. My fav image is the long distance barn with foreground foliage blur. Very cool!…decaf??? Aye Carrumba. lol. Cinnamon Maple sounds awesome however! πŸ™‚

    • I love that shot. I felt very creating taking it πŸ˜‰
      Yes, decaf. Last December we bought our last soda (we drink it out, just not at home where we were being totally lazy and pretty much only drinking that), and since then I am super-sensitive to caffeine. Even if I have a coffee after lunch, if I get it with caffeine, it keeps me up at night. The maple cinnamon combo is delicious, and perfect for this time of year!

  5. I’m so glad you went back to that barn! And at the risk of sounding like a broken record – I think you should be making your living as a photographer!! Your eye for detail is incredible Heather :))

  6. In Goa – I always go back to Aguada – a tiny hill that’s home to flocks of wild peacocks and other birds. I feel incomplete if I can’t make it for any reason…it just sits right in my gut πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Quick Trip to the Sand Lakes | Adventures in Michigan's Up North

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

