Frosted Friday

alienAnother (rainy) Halloween has come and gone, and now it’s November – my least favorite month of the year. Unless you count mid-March through mid-April – that timeframe is at the bottom, too. We have another overcast day full of rain in store today, and more of the same tomorrow. In the spirit of making lemonade, though, we’ve planted a few aces in our sleeves. A trip for the world’s best sandwiches is on the menu tomorrow, and a hike somewhere pretty (even in November) is on tap for Sunday.

With the time-change looming this weekend, stealing my evening light, I need some reminders on November’s strong points, even if the weather is underscoring just why I dislike this month.

It’s not all clouds and rain. Some days are glittering with frost – which means that the ground is hard enough to hike upon, and that it’s cold enough to snow! So Happy November! May your days shine – at least in your mind’s eye 🙂

frosty Friday


frosty Friday-6

21 thoughts on “Frosted Friday

  1. Okay – first of all, I apologize for the barrage of “like” activity you just got from me. I just realized how terrible I’ve been about expressing that I do, indeed, like each and every post. I know I tell you on FB, and likes don’t mean so much to you, but I think they count and I had some serious catching up to do! Secondly: Love the last frosted flower pic. 🙂 Thirdly: Congrats on the Michigan in Pictures feature! http://michpics.wordpress.com/2013/11/01/the-road-to-winter-is-short/

    • I’m feeling overwhelmed with love right now 🙂 Likes count more when they’re from a friend. All of them are good, but those from people I know – even just “know” on the internet – count more than random passers-through.
      Like the marshmallows in my Lucky Charms, I saved the best for last 😉 I love those frosted daisies too. And thank you for the shout-out! Oh, and ❤

  2. For me, November is the pre-game show for winter, and I don’t mind it so much. But then, my joys in winter do not involve participating in winter sports, as you do. February – that’s my least favorite month. By February, I’m ready for spring, I have hibernated long enough, and the black and white world of winter has been around long enough. I wish you weather suitable to your Sunday hike.

    >

    • “Pre-game show” is a good way to describe it. I think that if I didn’t enjoy winter sports, I might be more inclined to be a snowbird who goes somewhere warm as winter drags on. We shall see; one of these years I won’t be able to play as much as I do now.
      Thanks for the weather wishes. It’s a steady drizzle out there now though, and I don’t think I’ll see the sun til Sunday morning. I might have to get up for a sunrise!

  3. November is your least favorite? Huh. I don’t mind it so much, of course it is still stunningly beautiful here. I should take a picture RIGHT NOW of the back yard. From the comfort of my living room. I don’t like February so much. So darn tired of it all by then. But it’s short. Or so I tell myself. Love the daisies too! 🙂 Going to go back and see what’s in that link up there in comments…

    • It’s still pretty here, too, but normally we’ve lost more of our leaves by now. They’ll be gone before long, with our evening light, and then it’ll just be grey and rainy. Yikes, I sound depressed and whiny! February is good. Lots of good snow for skiing 🙂

  4. Nice frost pics. I always ponder getting out the camera to take pics like these, but am usually heading off to work when that happens. Oh well. Echoing Dawn: November is yur least favorite?? I kinda like November. It feels somehow…like another new beginning. It’s more like February or March which can kinda get long. OK, I just keep echoing Dawn so will skeddadle out of here!

    • Working from home makes frost pictures easy to capture – plus our work day doesn’t start until 9am, so lots of time for frost to linger before work!
      You and Dawn crack me up. The beginning of November isn’t so bad, but then it hangs around dark and dreary. I hate losing the evening light (you know I’m not a morning girl!), and it feels like the color has drained from the world. I eventually adjust – and you know I make myself get out there and find things worth seeing anyway. By mid-March, when ski season is done, I’m over winter. I’d like mid-March through mid-April less, but there’s so much sun by then!

  5. Aaaw…November is one of my favorite times of year! It being birthday month and all 😉 But more coz it means cooler weather here which is such a relief! Bangalore, my new home has lovely weather…pleasantly cool for the most part 🙂 Dont you just love the leaves all dressed up in their Fall colours?!

    • Happy Birthday month 🙂 It’s Tony’s birthday month, too. Since you enjoy the month so much, I feel like we even out 😉 Is Bangalore at a higher altitude?
      And, YES to fall leaves. But I just hate to see them go :-/

        • That will be lovely! A good friend lives in Hawaii, and she’s lived down at sea level before, but her place now is a few hundred feet up. It makes a marked difference. Glad you’re enjoying the new digs 🙂

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

