Aurora Excitement

Man o man, I’m excited! I spent some time over the weekend editing the hundreds of aurora photos I took at the very beginning of October. I had good intentions – I planned to edit them quickly and then share them out. Only I got busy making and sharing other images, and hanging out with people I rarely get to see, and going places I don’t often go. Which is all a way of saying life got in the way.

But, I made time, and progressed a bit on the learning curve of time-lapse video making. I’ve still got a ways to go (not sure why the video is so grainy – the photos that went into it were not…), but I’m going to take my time and enjoy the process.

I hope you enjoy the video. I’m pretty proud of my efforts. And you know what? This isn’t a bad substitute for color and sunshine what with November being itself 😉

(If you can’t see YouTube videos for any reason, I’ve also uploaded this one to my Facebook page along with more images, and I’ll be getting it up on Flickr sometime in the not-too-distant future.)

18 thoughts on “Aurora Excitement

  1. This is so beautiful. You are a quick learner. I haven’t tried time lapse. I had planned on doing moon flowers but this summer didn’t produce any. Something to look forward to. 🙂 I can understand why you are excited – good going!

    • It’s been a slow process, and it’s not perfect. If I had planned ahead of time, I’d have done what I have in my head now as what would have been great. But, (as I just said on Carol’s blog about something else entirely) I refuse to kick myself. I put in some transitions to smooth the rough patches, and have decided it was best to share as-is. The aurora is too special to hold onto 🙂

        • And we can be so hard on ourselves if we aren’t careful. It is a fine line between pushing ourselves to do our best and beating ourselves up over not being perfect.

          • I’m getting better about it than I used to be (writing papers in college was the worst!), but I still have a hard time walking away from a project before it’s exactly as I want it. We are our own worst critics.

    • You know I was 🙂
      Good thing, too, because it took some creativity getting myself outside today. Bleh, it’s gross. Just like November 😉 (I promise I’ll get tired of picking on this month, but for now it’s some easy fun!)

      • I’m super happy for you. We live north enough to see the lights, but with a forest to the north and my inability to stay up much past 9 pm (almost bedtime!!), I never seem to catch them!!

        • One of my blogger friends in the UP says the same thing 🙂
          I’m a night owl, though. I’m hoping that changes eventually, but for now, I’m up late enough to catch them, so I won’t complain!

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

