Winter Brings Ice…and Candy

Our recent temperatures have conspired to make me think 20 degrees (-7C) is going to feel pleasant on Saturday. Normally, I would just layer up ridiculously for skiing, but me skiing doesn’t do much by way of exercising the dog. So lately I’ve taken to wearing thick, windproof gear that I can unzip during a run, which keeps me warm even at windchills below zero. On a side note, running uphill on unpacked fresh powder is almost as fun as running uphill in sand. You can tuck that little tidbit away for later. You’re welcome 😉

Howdy, neighbors? (Taken during a particularly heavy snowburst this afternoon)
heavy snow

With the brutal weather, early sunsets (it dips below the horizon precisely at 5:00pm now, but we’ll be on the rebound next Wednesday!), and weekend-only (for now) skiing, we haven’t had many non-puppy-walking opportunities to be outside. However, that’s worked in our favor the past couple days. We spent nine hours making candy for dear ones, and you’d be hard-pressed to convince me to stay inside that long on a pleasant evening.

I didn’t take any photos of the candy, so here’s a Christmas-y vignette instead 🙂
Christmas vignette

We packed it all up last night, and then headed to Alden – where our neighbor’s office is – this afternoon for a delivery. We joked with him about hanging out at the marina down the street…and then promptly did just that upon leaving him with goodies.

There was a sliver of clear sky overhead, a little bubble of clarity amid the constant snow, that allowed the sun to peak through. I again marveled at the drama in the heavens as I tottered out to the icy edge. The angry winds tossed a bit of Torch Lake on me as I snapped images of the directionally forming ice.

Though the sky and lake beckoned convincingly, my aching fingers eventually shouted loudly enough at me that I returned to the car. It was a close call, I tell ya. One thing those frigid temps are good for, though, is frosting our windows. Well, that, and it makes me wanna bake. It’s sure beginning to feel a lot like Christmas!

Does the cold weather make you want to bake? Or play? Or hide in front of a fire under a blanket (I’m doing that right now 😉 )
Frosted Windowpane

14 thoughts on “Winter Brings Ice…and Candy

    • I want to eat the goodies I made, too! Luckily for my waistline, I promptly packed them up. (They are dark chocolate dipped candied orange peels and salted caramels…mmmm!)
      Thank you for the compliments. When I’m out in the elements, it doesn’t seem like toughness, just practicality. Being outside soothes me, and dressing for the occasion makes it possible. 🙂

  1. I like the blanket…and you taking pictures for our enjoyment..thank you very much! Beautiful angry skies over Torch Lake..and the frosted window is very cool!

    • The urge to share things on this blog keeps me going out sometimes, and looking for new perspectives – in short, it prevents me from putting the camera down for too long.
      Doesn’t the lake effect banding create marvelous sky-scapes? I love how the sun pours through the falling snow. And the frosted windows…ahh!

  2. Your photo vistas are beautiful – but do make me quite happy to stay inside where it’s warm. I admire, and envy, your getting out there for the good of your dog – and your blog readership. My dogs just get chunkier and my sitting part wider. I have the blanket – would love a fireplace.

    • We’ve watched The Dog Whisperer for years, and firmly believe in the importance of exercise for a balanced dog – particularly an energetic pup. Petey lets us know if we’re late walking him. So far, we haven’t had a single thing chewed that shouldn’t have been, and he’s happy and easy going. I feel like we’re doing something right 😉 Fingers crossed!
      We had a propane fireplace installed in May, and it’s seen a lot of use this winter! It goes perfectly with a blanket and a furry critter.

  3. Well!! Those gorgeous vistas almost make up for no candy pictures but not quite 😛 Want to see those too!

    The cold sometimes makes me want to curl up with coffee and a great book but because I only get it when I travel abroad…I like to bask in it even if it means freezing to death!

    • Basking in the cold means being prepared for it! We loaded up on appropriate gear when we first moved here, and it makes all the difference in the world. Tony and I laid down in our back yard and just watched it snow for like 15 minutes our first winter here…all because we could 🙂
      I knew you’d want photos of the candy (I listened kinda to your requests re: Polish food), but I was so worn out that I just couldn’t be bothered 😉 Next time. (I would promise, but I know better 😉 )

  4. That is something I would do…lie down and feel the snow fall 🙂 When I was a kid, many many years ago in Japan…I played in the snow – such happy memories of snowball fights and snowmen and snow forts and tasting snowflakes!! Sigh…these are the times I want to turn back the clock 😉

    Well…will wait on the candy pics!! Honesty is good 😛

    • Some days I meet it, some days I step into it just for a moment. Tony and I planned on taking a waterside hike with the pup yesterday, but where we had aimed the snow was drifted too deep. We chose another place, which we did play at for a bit, but just a bit. That wind was biting! (Photos soon, though, because you know me…)

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

