Friday Photos – Freezing Bubbles

After seeing it all over the internet (by which I mean Facebook), I got pulled into the freezing bubble phenomenon. Unfortunately, I had neither bubble solution nor bubble wand. I resolved to rectify the situation, as we were in Traverse City/near bubble-supply location, but then forgot. So I did what any person who desperately wants to make bubbles does and improvised. I made a wand out of some Amazon packaging leftovers (you never know what those things can be good for!) and found bubble solution in the form of the diluted Dawn we keep beside the kitchen sinks.

“Bubble wand” with frozen solution inside…forms in less than two seconds!
bubbles-4

After many, many bubbles, a few finally stuck without popping. Apparently adding corn syrup makes the bubbles a little thicker, but I wasn’t going to ruin my soap since it was working okay.

I love the snowflakes on this bubble πŸ™‚
bubbles

I was happy with that, despite the low contrast of the cloudy morning. But then the sun came out…and so I traipsed back out. My fingers haven’t been that cold in a long time – much colder than the other day. Making the bubbles isn’t so bad, but making the pictures is brutal! I’m not sure how cold it needs to be for bubbles to freeze, but if you get a cold, windless day, give it a go! (I think the low wind is probably more important than the extreme cold, but it was in the single digits out there.) Your inner child you will thank you πŸ™‚

Wanna see more? Hop over to Jess’ blog – we were doing the same thing at the same time again πŸ˜‰

34 thoughts on “Friday Photos – Freezing Bubbles

  1. My inner child would love it, but my old-lady body might not be so forgiving. Our temps have been very mild, so I may never know. This year at least.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • If you ever go out with your girls on a cold day, your “old-lady body” will do just fine! Making the bubbles is the easy part…getting them in a good location for photos is the tough part. I’m glad that your temps have been easy this year. Hope you get enough snow to make you happy, then on to spring!

  2. Good stuff. You might like to try:-

    Add Glycerin for bigger bubbles. Spread a little of the mixture on the surface so the bubbles settle more easily. Get a smoker to blow smoke into the bubbles.

    Have fun and take care of those fingers. πŸ™‚

    • I had some bigger bubbles, but they all popped 😦 I am not sure spreading the mixture out would work, considering we’re socked in under about a half meter of snow! Fingers have recovered nicely. I kept some of that hot chocolate you sent πŸ˜‰

      • Sorry I meant if you make, for example, an old carpet soapy then the the bubbles don’t burst so easily. (mispent youth).

        I sent Hot Chocolate ? It’s the red mist you know. πŸ˜‰

    • A bundle of fun? Now that you mention it, I don’t see why not πŸ˜‰ I like the lighting in the other bubble shots better (cool shadows and whatnot), but I love the little flakes on the teal background.

    • Happy toes are the best toes!
      Not sure we’ve improved, but we’ve progressed from bitter cold to freezing rain. Be thankful for those gray, warm skies πŸ˜‰

  3. I saw this the other day and thought–wow–totally amazing–these are the coolest! You had some fun, didn’t you? I was just at Kat’s blog–do you know her?–and she was out there in Minnesota doing the same thing. We northerners are such hearty stock! To think we can find fun when it’s cold. And when we think 32 degrees is a heat wave.

    • You must direct me to Kat’s blog. I’ve obviously been missing out.
      And yes, you know we’re intrepid when it feels warm as it approaches the freezing mark. I took Petey out for business yesterday morning (23-degrees), and thought “I really understand why kids wear shorts on the first 40-degree day.”

  4. Both my inner child and my actual one are dancing with joy πŸ˜€ However I now blame you squarely for Junior demanding that we make our own frozen bubbles πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰

    The logistics must have been tough…I can well imagine…but well worth it πŸ™‚ And once again – the Blue!

    • Sorry for getting Junior all excited. I expect the logistics for you to make frozen bubbles would be significantly more difficult than for me :-/ As for the blue, it’s courtesy of a sheet of construction paper for contrast. πŸ™‚

      • Oh don’t be Sorry!!! He’s easily distracted and moved on to his latest puzzle soon after! 5-yr-olds have their advantages πŸ˜‰ I don’t think we’ll ever be able to do something like that here…not sure I want the kind of temperatures needed to either! I did want to ask though whether even for you, this is a rarity…as in can you do this in a ‘normal’ winter without the ‘Big Freeze’?

        • Maybe we can freeze bubbles when you visit πŸ˜‰ We can also do puzzles. I love that you guys are such puzzle nuts. It takes a lot of patience for a little one to focus on the puzzles he’s doing. Bravo!
          This weather isn’t exactly normal – being surrounded by the huge inland lakes moderates our temperature quite a bit. Nearby Minnesota (west and a tad north, but farther from the Great Lakes) is significantly colder in the winter. That being said, we see those very cold temps at least once a winter, I’d say. I didn’t even know it was a “polar vortex” until this year. We always just called it a cold snap πŸ˜‰ I don’t know how the weather forecasters are on your side of the world, but over here they like to be dramatic. “Polar vortex” fits the bill nicely, no? πŸ˜‰

          • I’d never heard of it either!! And our weather forecasters are dramatic and most of the times…WRONG πŸ˜‰ Safe to say you can leave the umbrella home if they say it;s going to rain! We follow the BBC weather report for the ‘actual’ weather πŸ˜›

            One more reason to visit in winter πŸ˜‰ If you keep posting the brilliant pics you do…I’m going to have to get serious about it!

          • Get serious about it πŸ˜‰ You can teach me how to cook sinfully delicious Indian fried bread and I will find some local dish to teach you. Either way, I’ll keep sharing the photos. It’s my passion πŸ™‚

  5. Your bubble pictures are beautiful! We just didn’t have luck with them — much better luck with the boiling water toss. Isn’t it amazing how quickly the cold gets to the fingers?! I had thin gloves on to take the photos while my son put his heavy ski gloves on and my fingers could feel those sub-zero temps in a hurry through the glove liners. So today we have freezing rain — yuck. We just can’t win this winter!

    • I didn’t try the boiling water thing because it just didn’t look like much in the photos, but your colored water ones made it look like fun. Now that it’s warm (mid-thirties today, dontcha know), I find myself wishing for the extreme cold back so I can play some more πŸ˜‰ I’m glad (if that’s the word!) that you can relate to my frozen fingers. Glove liners are great for lots of things…just not those temps!

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

