Quick Trip to Maple Bay

About a month ago, Tony and I tried to take Petey for a walk at Maple Bay, but were stymied by snow drifts that reached partly up the car doors. Having learned that lesson previously, we went elsewhere. However, we’d driven by recently, and I thought the drive looked plowed. I decided to give it another go today.

When I arrived, the drive was cleared down to the pebbles – perfectly safe for a gal and her pup. We pawed our way down the treacherous snow path that descends toward the beach. (Aside for those unfamiliar with snowpack: sure, it all looks roughly the same, but it’s not. When the snow is fresh, it can have all kinds of different textures ranging from slippery/oily to dry and fluffy. After it piles up significantly, it packs in and get denser. Following a couple of warm days, the surface melts and refreezes, leaving behind an icy shell of varying thickness that is as slippery as you’d think. This is what we were walking on toward the beach ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ) But the trail isn’t long, and soon we were on flatter grounds.

Maple Bay

Shortly after we alit onto the beach, the predicted snow arrived, hastening our departure. We meandered a little. I just wanted to see if the beach was walkable (yes, depending on your standards), and get the dog out for a bit. Besides, we’d just spent all afternoon on icy beaches. Also, I know a bad omen when I see one. The algae were cool in their own way – looking like overblown bacteria. But the fish – two carcasses, actually, with the one’s head as big as my hand – signaled that it was officially (o-fish-ally?) time to go.

Okay, so I don’t really believe in bad omens and such. I’m just not superstitious. Are you?

15 thoughts on “Quick Trip to Maple Bay

    • I somehow didn’t think you were the superstitious type. I am mostly amused at the coincidence. I don’t think you were reading way back in my bloggy beginnings, but when we first moved into this house, we found a dead fish wrapped in a locust tree’s branches. I’m thinking they arrived via eagle. I’m sure it’s not a sign ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Sometimes about somethings. Not vague at all ๐Ÿ˜‰ Petey didn’t even notice they were up there. He was very busy with any exposed plants and rocks he could find. Turns out the snow dims all the good smells in the winter. Occasionally the snow plows will go wide enough that they churn up some of falls leaf litter on the roadsides and Petey cannot leave it alone. So yes, curious, but not observant in the same way as me ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Oh my, Heather, I would have interpreted the fish as time to STAY. You were being given a glimpse of a creature from the deep, its skeleton rising forth to sing its siren underwater tune. Fish coming forth! Trout bearing legends, walleye skeletons whispering truths we can’t bear to hear until they arrive (OK, maybe a little smelly, just to make it more real) into our consciousness. Next time you must attempt to stay a little longer and listen, oh please, and write a blog about the secrets the fish brought from hundreds of feet below our awareness?

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

