Spring Is on the Way

spring barn

Spring is on the way.

fresh snow-08

We can’t see the grass anywhere, and the snowdrifts are still up to my collar bones, but spring is on the way.

It may still look and feel just like winter, but I can tell. I know all the signs.

These sweet girls visited us on their Spring Break, and we did all kinds of spring things, like sledding, snowy hiking, and ice caving.

Also, we just celebrated the transition to Daylight Saving Time, colloquially called “Spring Forward,” so it must be almost spring.

And it’s the middle of March, which is when spring arrives. So it’s definitely on its way.

The pavement pieces that tile our road were clear for two days, so spring is sure to arrive soon.

Why just today we went skiing and then hiking through snowpack – two quintessential springtime activities.


The lakes are still frozen solid, and the winds bring frostbite in moments.

moonrise

But there’s light in the sky until 9:00pm.

post sunset

And it did rain the other day. So yes, spring really is on its way. It’s just that it could be winter again by time it arrives.

A note about my sanity: I’m not really that upset about this winter. It’s been beautiful, as you can see from this slew of photos, mostly taken during this morning’s sunrise over the fresh snow. It’s surely been a long, cold winter, but it hasn’t been without its rewards. We’ll enjoy whatever weather comes our way, and will savor the springtime even more when it does arrive. In July. πŸ˜‰

Also, many thanks to my Crazy (formerly) Goan Friend for the nudge to write again πŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Spring Is on the Way

  1. Hahahahahahaa….Heather…if this post doesn’t shame Spring into arriving I don’t know what will πŸ˜‰ Meanwhile…I’m glad you found those words and if I helped in any way, why I’m gladder πŸ˜› But I

    It’s certainly hard to be upset about the Winter when it IS so stunningly beautiful. Especially for us tropicals should who suffer from constant sunshine πŸ˜‰ This new lot of pictures makes it harder. Stunning as always πŸ˜€ Those last two…that midnight blue!!!!

    • Do you think shaming will work? I kind of hope so πŸ˜‰ And yes – because of your gentle nudging, I ended up back in the blogging world. It’s a place I enjoy, but sometimes it feels like a chore. So when it does, I just don’t do it. But then, I start getting this feeling that I need to write, and then I get caught in both places – wanting to and avoiding the effort. Glad I’m back πŸ™‚
      Suffer from constant sunshine! Ha! Actually, I do know what you mean (assuming you weren’t just being mean!). I missed the clearly defined seasons when I lived in southern Florida. Each season is my favorite as it arrives. The transitions around winter can be tough, but I still contend they’re worth it. If I change my mind, I’ll move πŸ™‚ Glad you like the photos! Finally felt compelled do that again too!

    • It was a stark transition, but we are at least getting to the point in winter where there’s lots of sun. Make all the difference. Er, well, psychologically. Obviously it’s not having much of an impact on the temp or snowpack πŸ˜‰

    • I’m passing your words onto Mother Nature. Perhaps if enough of us say it, she’ll take note πŸ˜‰ (It *is* above freezing, and the sun’s out today…)

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

