The Myth of Spring

They say March comes in like a lion and leaves like a lamb. Around these parts, March roared like a lion for four solid weeks, and then toyed around with the idea of bleating softly for about three days at the end of the month. Since then, Mother Nature has been felinishly fickle – taunting us because we’re the prey she knows can’t escape.

Sure, we know it’s spring, and that this winter will end, but some days it just does not feel like it. Days like yesterday – when we had lake effect snow all day – and today – when the temperature was supposed to rise into the mid-40’s (~8C) but did not.

The sun shone brilliantly all day, I tricked myself into believing it was as toasty as it appeared. I even promised Petey we’d go on a hike after work, because who wouldn’t want to? Us, as it turns out. By which I mean Tony and me, because Petey was all about the sniffing. It must’ve been the smelliest trail he’s walked on. We didn’t notice. We were cold. The silver lining? The woods are showing some spring progress. 1 – No signs of snow πŸ™‚ 2 – Leeks are sprouting and other photosynthetic varieties are reaching sunward. Still, we took the short path, choosing not to meander onto exposed hilltops.

After cutting our walk short, we decided to hop over to the marina to see if Torch Lake had visibly melted since our last viewing. Driving by the south end yesterday, we noted quite a bit of liquid expanse and were hopeful for similar exposure nearby.
Torch under ice
No luck. In Alden, the ice still clings. And it’s not just a skim coat, in case you were wondering. Yesterday’s 17mph NNW winds pushed some ice up onto the rocks, so we can see just how thick it is floating on top of our precious turquoise lake.

Thick. Looks like winter is determined not to relinquish its icy grip yet, even though May is just around the corner. Still, our grass gets greener by the day, and our snow drifts shrink. Hope remains πŸ™‚
ice and leaf

28 thoughts on “The Myth of Spring

  1. It seems Mother Nature is being particularly bitchy in your part of the country this year. Hopefully she’ll cheer up in time for your beloved Morels.

    • Thank you so much for the smiles, Carol! Your accurate description of MN and your thoughtful remembering of my morel love intersected to warm my heart πŸ™‚

  2. It’s all very confusing. Your friend May lives around the corner and you left Hope there ? And, felinishly !. Still at least you’re normal beneath the snow. I hope it gets better soon. I’ve always liked a little snow but I can see how it can get tedious. πŸ™‚

  3. First things first – ‘felinishly fickle’ Your wordsmithery continues to amaze πŸ˜€ LOVE that last picture of the leaf…absolutely stunning!

    I cannot believe it’s almost May and there’s that much snow still 😦 Doesn’t seem right and you know I DO love the snow! How does it compare with April last year? Is this the worst winter on record? It sure seems that way to me! Still…the green IS sprouting! YAY πŸ™‚ We spent Easter weekend at a hill station called Ooty surrounded by the Nilgiris. Heaven πŸ˜€ The Nilgiris (Blue Mountains – so called because they appear Blue in the morning mist) are a unique environment with a lot of plant and animal species endogenous to the area and not found anywhere else on the Planet…like the Amazon Rainforest. It was cool, misty and a birdwatchers paradise πŸ™‚ Had a wonderful time and can’t seem to get back to routine. Was totally channeling The Misty Mountains while there πŸ˜›

    Here’s to GREEN πŸ˜€

    • I liked to contribute to our ever-expanding lexicon. “Felinishly” is the newest adverb; partake at will πŸ™‚
      We don’t have much snow at this point – just a few drifts clinging to dear life. The rest of our landscape is brown/green. Even much of Lake Michigan has melted, along with many inland lakes. We live at the south end of the 20-mile long Torch Lake, and I suspect that the NNW winds pushed a bunch of its surface ice our way. Wondering if the north end is open water. This winter has been one for the record books in many ways, but it wasn’t actually as ridiculous as it’s felt. The big difference to me is that we normally have a few melts during the winter months that prevent things from piling up too much. This year it was pretty much below freezing the whole time – with record days below 0F.
      Your Nilgiris sound like our Blue Ridge Mountains, only I don’t think ours contain so many endemic species. Did you capture loads of photos, or just memories? Speaking of bird watchers, you should follow Martyn (who I know not at all!!) on flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/79426960@N02. He shares lovely bird photos πŸ™‚
      Good luck getting into routine. Or not. Perhaps good luck getting used to no routine πŸ™‚ Drinking to GREEN now πŸ˜€

      • Good! Good! Brown and green is felinishly good πŸ˜‰ It doesn’t have to make sense right? πŸ˜›

        Will check out Martyn asap…have been neglecting Flickr these days…along with a general neglect of many things! I SUCK at multitasking :/ I did take a lot of pics! Just being a bit lazy with the editing part but am working on them over the weekend hopefully! I even put together my first panorama in Photoshop πŸ™‚ Sunrise over the Nilgiris…you would have trekked all over those mountains Heather! I just know you would have πŸ˜€

        • Well, I suppose no words technically *have* to make sense when we use them; that just facilitates conversation. And really, do cats ever make sense?
          I neglected Flickr and my blog for a bit. Starting to feel a little back in the groove though…but don’t count on it just yet πŸ˜‰ Can’t wait to see your photos and pano!

    • Thanks! Can’t decide if the snow’s being Blob-y and eating the leaf, or if the leaf is summoning its sun-soaking powers and melting the snow πŸ˜‰

  4. Beautiful photos, Heather. We sure don’t have record highs here in lower MI but every time I leave the house I blow some of the warm air north towards you. πŸ™‚

  5. Oh you have leeks! And dry ground. There is hope for us… Actually, in the last couple of weeks our snow has melted gangbusters but, you’re right, Spring hasn’t seemed to settle deeply yet. There was a possible winter storm yesterday/today but the temps have remained warm enough, thank goodness. It’s good to stop by your northern hearth this morning, Heather.

    • Kathy!! How good to “see” you! We only have tiny leeks in a few places, but most of the snow has melted and we are back to a brown world (with flecks of happy green). Glad the winter storm turned into a spring one for you. I’m not a fan of cold rain (usually prefer just having snow), but this year all I can think is “this rain will help melt the snow!” Thanks for stopping by. Glad you’re surviving this winter! (How are your pipes holding up? Saw that Marquette County was getting emergency assistance for the deep, deep frost line this year.)

      • Our pipes are fine, Heather, here in Aura. They’ve had some troubles in downtown L’Anse, though. Today it’s about 42 and just turned sunny. If I wasn’t waiting for a phone call, I’d go for a walk. Bet YOU are out walking!

        • I’m not sure if we were out walking or not. We tried, but failed on Friday. Made up for some yesterday and today though. Glad your pipes didn’t freeze. 42 and sunny feels warm after this winter – hope you enjoyed it even if you were on the phone πŸ™‚

  6. My random thoughts: Can’t believe the lakes are still frozen up there. People will surprise you with what images strike their fancy…usually there not the ones I would pick…which always surprises me as well. And I really need to get out and take some nature photo’s soon, I’m starting to have withdrawals!

    • We’re getting there on the lakes πŸ˜‰ Torch has almost all melted – the only ice that remains has blown away from this end of the lake, so I feel okay about it – ha! And I agree with you about people and their favorites. They almost always surprise me. Except my husband. Any time I’m asking him to A/B something for me, he nearly always chooses the version I was leaning toward. And yes! Get out there and take some photos! I know spring in the south is beautiful and I love your photos πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

