Macro Monday

We didn’t go on any grand adventures for these photos. Well, except the shells – that was an adventure I haven’t shared. The rest of these are just yard photos, but they represent some of the first living things to present themselves after the winter, and I felt like sharing πŸ™‚ Obviously I am a fan of the crocuses, and the British soldier lichen remain some of my favorites – strange little symbiosis, that.

Got a favorite from the set? Also, I’d love your thoughts on the “normally” focused crocuses and the one I captioned/titled “shallow depth of field”…beneath the yellow crocus. I was playing around with the aperture on that one and kind of like it – it looks dreamy to me.

Cheers to this Macro Monday being the start of a great week!

19 thoughts on “Macro Monday

  1. My Sony does the shallow depth of field thing when it’s on auto focus, and I have mixed opinions about it as well. I think it looks good here because you are zoomed in on the flower … If the object in focus occupies less than 50% of the pixel space, the blurry background starts looking odd to me, but even the. I have seen some shots that pull it off… Glad to see signs of life up there!

    • We are exceptionally glad to be on THIS side of winter already! I agree with you about some images looking off if most of it is out of focus, but I too have seen images where it works well. And then so much is down to preference. I’m just having fun playing around with the capabilities of my macro lens πŸ™‚

  2. Here’s to LIFE!!! Love all the pictures…needless to say. I totally love the shallow DOF on the purple crocus πŸ™‚ It is very dreamy indeed and such a pretty colour!

    You can’t say ‘adventure’ and ‘haven’t shared’ in the same sentence! It’s a rule I have πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

    • I go back and forth on the shallow DOF. I do really like it, but I also like when the whole flower’s in focus. Oh choices – the spice of life. Well that and crocus pollen – the most expensive spice of life!
      As for that adventure – I hate to be a rule-breaker (no I don’t πŸ˜‰ ), but it just wasn’t very exciting. How about the reader’s digest version: I wanted to take photos of the ice melt progression, and the day was warm. As we headed north, it got cooler (not because went very far, but because that’s where the ice had pushed to on the lake), and then it rained on us. I do have some good photos from the trip, so I’ll work on getting those shared.

      • LOL @ Reader’s Digest version πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I hadn’t thought of that publication in ages! And to think it used to be a reading staple in our house all through my childhood and well into my twenties too πŸ˜›

        Oooh…crocus pollen…gotta love it πŸ˜‰ Looking forward to more pictures as always πŸ™‚

  3. Choosing a favorite? Close to impossible, but I think I’m with Jess – really like the two of the yellow crocus with the dew drops. The shallow depth of field does have that dreamy quality, and I could see a blow-up of the shells on my bathroom wall, except I’ve filled that space with pictures I’ve taken of lighthouses.

    • I love those little yellow buds. I only have a few of them, and they’re so short-lived. Interesting that people are gravitating toward the dew drops. We’ve got rain and rain and rain in the forecast. I’ll see if I can’t get inspired πŸ™‚

  4. Myself, I like one clear object (I’d like to make one thing clear .. .. ). Usually the focused object is in the foreground. Might be interesting if it were in the background instead ❓ with only small objects in the fore. hmmm Was that an exam question and do we get points for course work ? πŸ˜€ Help!

    • I considered this comment today while I was out photographing some little blue/purple flowers. I haven’t taken the photos off the memory card yet, but I’m interested to see how it worked out. Of course you get points for course work! In fact, no exam – course work only πŸ™‚

  5. Hey Heather! I’m still trying to figure out what happened with me and the WordPress photo challenge. I went to the last link you sent and signed up again (via ‘follow) and it said they’d sent a confirmation email, which did not turn up…so somehow the prompts are probably going somewhere odd. Anyway…can you send to my email the next one (tomorrow’s) and I’ll try again?

    Thanks!

    • I’ll send you what I see Dawn πŸ™‚ You aren’t the only one having trouble, though! I think the only reason I still see their stuff is because I have a non-discriminate Daily Post RSS feed, so I get ALL their stuff in a feed reader. But I’ve read that many people lost access to their challenges despite having done what you did. When they post it, I’ll send it your way! Maybe you can participate for both of us πŸ˜‰

  6. I think I’ve been getting them, they just don’t say PHOTO Challenge in the subject title anymore!!! LOL. I happened to open another daily post email and there they were talking about photos!

    • Thank you Kamila! I’ve been playing around with a snap-on macro lens I got, and have been having a blast now that there are some flowers to shoot πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

