Take Three

Three quick stories, because I wanted to share these fun moments (or, really pictures for the TC one…)

When my family was in town recently, we did a lot of sunset + ice cream -ing. It’s something we excel at, and when you’re good at something… Anyway, one evening we were all hanging out at the ballpark on Torch Lake near Alden, licking ice cream and watching the sun paint the sky. Another couple had joined us, but it was no intrusion. Everyone was polite, simply enjoying the moment. As we gathered up our things to leave, the lady approached and asked if I was Heather. Trish recognized me (and Petey and some family members probably) from this blog. How cool is that? Thanks for stopping to say “Hi,” Trish! It was lovely to meet you and share a moment.

A couple of days ago, Tony and I planned a date night. We don’t bother to do this often, because when you’re married to your best friend, like to eat out, and you don’t have kids every night is kind of like date night. But we did plan an evening out to a favorite restaurant followed by a movie.


With skies like these, I tried to talk Tony into just watching the sunset and skipping the movie, but he didn’t take me very seriously. šŸ˜‰
Stormy TC pano
Stormy TC pano-2

As we wandered around Traverse City and the marina afterward, we determined that apparently date night = eating at The Franklin and watching an action/sci fi movie at The Bijou. For our last three real date nights, this is exactly what we’ve done. Perhaps next time we’ll choose a different restaurant. I have no expectations that we’ll choose a different film genre.

Yesterday afternoon, I hopped on Facebook on our way to dinner with friends. Blogging pal Kathy had posted just moments ago about how though illogical, she was deeply interested in traveling the 550 miles from the Upper Peninsula (da UP, dontcha know?) to the thumb area downstate to visit her folks. She incited a storm of commentary – including my own additions – urging her to follow her heart. Less than half and hour later, Kathy and I had made breakfast plans in Gaylord – a northern Michigan town less than an hour from here – as she pauses in her journey south.

May you all find yourselves here soon šŸ™‚
beyond bliss

25 thoughts on “Take Three

  1. Gorgeous photos, as always. I admire the relationship you and Tony have – it has to be solid to be together 24/7. And I am so happy Kathy is following her heart to see her family, and to breakfast with you.

    • Many thanks, Carol. I wouldn’t necessarily call it work, but Tony and I put a lot of effort into our relationship. It helps that we both learned a long time ago that being self-righteous and prideful don’t get you very far, and saying sorry is nice but doesn’t undo a hurtful thing. We don’t shy from the truth, but we are careful with our words. (And of course, it helps that we see eye-to-eye as friends so often!)
      It was so great seeing Kathy yesterday morning. I had to have a coffee for the road (I got up at 6:40 – can you believe it??), but getting to know – in real life – a blogging pal is a true blessing!

  2. What wonderful stories, Heather. And the photos make me feel like I was there with you. I think I owe JB about 5 war movies because we always seem to end up in a chick flick. šŸ™‚

    • We were glad to have you along, Pat. Join us anytime! If I were in to chick flicks, Tony would owe me loads and loads! I must have a boyish sensibility when it comes to movies šŸ˜‰

  3. YES!!! Finally, finally I can view my site and yours after all the problems I’ve had šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€ I love serendipity like in that blogger-meets-blogger story! How cool is that?! And may I say how cool it is to be friends with a Blogging celebrity myself šŸ˜‰ šŸ˜€

    Love the pictures as always…and it’s nice to see city pictures too, once in a while! Have been reading great review of Guardians of the Galaxy (I’m not familiar with that particular Marvel series), is it good? I’m quite hooked on to Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D at the moment…watching Season 1 on TV and online too šŸ˜›

    That last picture so sums up my state of mind at the moment…being able to connect again…Beyond Bliss šŸ˜‰

    • Hahaha – blogging celebrity! Good one šŸ™‚
      We really had the nicest time. I hope her ears didn’t hurt due to my chattiness!
      Traverse City has lots of charm – it’s got a good history and lots of architecture to work with. But you know my passion is nature, so even when TC finds itself in my sights, the photos often land in the trash.
      Guardians of the Galaxy was So.Much.Fun. I was dreading it just a tad because it looked like boy humor of the variety I don’t really enjoy. I wasn’t at all familiar with the story, but it was engaging and funny. There is a lot of adult humor, but I think with the exception of some adult language (like the F-bomb), I think it would pass over a little one’s head – the same way stuff in Shrek did. I’d definitely recommend it!
      Hmmm – Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. What is this? Besides hard to type šŸ˜‰

      • Chattiness is never hurtful on any part of the anatomy in my opinion šŸ˜‰ šŸ˜›

        Hmmm…maybe I’ll have to watch Guardians Of the Galaxy after all. I’m guessing you’re not into The Avengers? Coz then you would know all about the hard-to-type S.H.I.E.L.D šŸ˜€ The full form of which I assure you is much harder to type and even harder to remember šŸ˜› It’s a spin off from the movie, where these agents fight mostly alien threats to the Planet. There are tie-ins to a few of the upcoming Marvel Universe movies and Samuel Jackson has put in a couple of guest appearances as Director Nick Fury. Everything is classified and everyone has secrets! I watch it because it’s written and produced by Joss Whedon who also made Buffy and Veronica Mars! I am a huge fan of his very clever, very snarky writing šŸ˜€

        • I haven’t spent much time with any comic books – I’m only familiar with them through their movies šŸ˜‰ But I’d wager that if you’re into The Avengers and S.H.I.E.L.D that you oughta give GOG a go šŸ˜‰
          You like Joss Whedon? Why aren’t we neighbors?!

    • Thank you Dawn. We had such a nice visit – really like reuniting with an old friend šŸ™‚
      I was so drawn to this stack of kayaks. They contrasted so strongly with those brooding skies!

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

