Gratitude and the Grass River

Grass-River-FB

That’s the Grass River at the end of October. I don’t get over there very often, but I am immensely grateful that it’s there. It’s one of the many, many natural places in which I am happiest. Without its public trails and boardwalks, I would not have access to these wetlands that are beautiful year-round, and that bring serenity to my soul.
Grass-River-trails2

Perhaps because tomorrow is Thanksgiving – or perhaps because it’s the low-light time of year when negativity tries to creep into my mind – I’ve been more mindful of being grateful.

Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough. -Oprah Winfrey
Wintry-Grass-River

So tonight I am grateful for access to wilderness, and a husband who likes to explore it with me.
Grass-River-in-Winter

I am grateful for clothing that allows me to venture out into otherwise inhospitable conditions.
Grass-River

I am grateful for a warm home to return to.
Grass-River-reflections

I am grateful for my pets, who constantly make life interesting – and a dog who is more tolerant of my cats than they are him.
Grass-River-trails

I am grateful that I have such a wonderful family, including my immediate siblings and parents, my in-laws, my extended family, and our friends (who are the family we choose). We are so fortunate to share our lives with so many good people.
meeting-building

And I am grateful for you, dear reader, for joining me on this journey. Thank you – for reading, liking, and commenting. I appreciate your accompaniment.

What are you grateful for? Please feel free to comment, and spread the gratitude 🙂

Let us rise up and be thankful, for if we didn’t learn a lot today, at least we learned a little, and if we didn’t learn a little, at least we didn’t get sick, and if we got sick, at least we didn’t die; so, let us all be thankful. -Buddha

Happy Thanksgiving!

14 thoughts on “Gratitude and the Grass River

    • “Be grateful for the little things, for one day you’ll look back and realize they were the big things.”
      I’m paraphrasing here, but of course I agree. May you have many days filled with things to be grateful for Munira. 🙂

    • Thank you Charlie! A good day is full of adventure; a great day is also being able to capture some of it in visible memories 🙂 Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    • Thanksgiving – or what it has come to mean to so many – is one of my favorite holidays. It’s important to recollect that we have so much to be thankful for, so thank you for joining the festivities! Hope you had and have lots to appreciate 🙂

  1. Well said Heather. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your entire family, bloggers included. I’ve so enjoyed your adventures! I’m looking forward to enjoying more of them!

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

