Rediscovering Skegemog

On the last day in November, Tony and I took Petey on a hike at the south end of Lake Skegemog. We had been fairly recently, but the boardwalk was underwater, so we turned back before we got to the viewing platform. After that trip, we decided this one we’d just stick to the old railroad bed. Back in 2010, we discovered a pretty little spot on the lake, and were sure this was the way to get there.As the sky darkened – no sunset this night – we figured we must’ve been mistaken. We did find this cool place, though, and had a nice walk so we were content.

Fast forward to today. Prior to this weekend, the sun’s presence has been scarce in northern Michigan. But we’ve had a fair amount lately, and all day today, the sun shone, begging me to join her outdoors. I finally did late this afternoon.

And wandering around the yard – despite the lovely dripping icicles – just did not satisfy. I consulted The Oracle (google) and her maps, and we set off for what I was sure was our previously discovered paradise on Skegemog.

Unsure of our distance, but sure that we only had about one hour of acceptable hiking light, we struck off at a decent pace. The trek follows a fairly wide, level trail through tall cedars and other evergreens. The path looks tangly, but it isn’t.
evergreen trail in

We arrived to the lake’s edge right at sunset. The southern end is frozen. I’m not sure how thick the ice is. It is both strong enough to support rabbits, as is evidenced by their tracks across the ice, and weak enough that experimentally adding weight (don’t worry – it was only inches deep where I was, and I was supported by one leg on solid ground!) causes interesting/eerie noises along the cracks as the force is distributed across the surface.


We stayed as late as we dared, knowing that we had about 1.5 miles to hike back out.

It wasn’t as dark as they look. I severely underexposed those shots because I liked the way the grasses appeared as silhouettes against that beautiful sky gradient. But, the light was quickly dimming down in the canopy. By the time we arrived back at the car, houses had their outdoor lights on.
dark hike out

We arrived home under the very last light of the sun, and to the glow of our neighbors’ Christmas-y house.

15 thoughts on “Rediscovering Skegemog

  1. I really enjoy your writings and photo’s. Thanks for taking time to share this. It gives me ideas\places to explore when I get up there.

    • Thank you for commenting T.H. We moved here in 2010, and so I understand what you mean about ideas for places to explore! We are constantly looking for new places while still frequenting our favorites. This place is special to me; I am happy to share its best features πŸ™‚ Enjoy your explorations and thanks for dropping by my blog hearth!

    • My mom always says she’s solar-powered. I think it rubbed off. I really don’t do well when I don’t get a chance to get out. I don’t appreciate having to wear so many layers, but I am so grateful to have them so that I can still enjoy the outdoors.
      For the record – if it’s wet and chilly, I’m not too keen on exploring either! No shame in that πŸ™‚

  2. For me, one of the most pleasing things in the world is to arrive at a friendly place at the first of dark, to find twinkling lights and a warm hearth. Reading your post and seeing the pictures has all that effect. Nicely done. πŸ™‚

  3. Hello, Ms. Heather, just stopping by to admire some of your pictures and think of you and imagine walking along Lake Skegemog. What a name! You know, you so often inspire us to get outside. Do you know that? We read of your hikes and suddenly we’re less inclined to become couch potatoes. (We hope.) Anyway, I’m off the couch hiking around in the blogosphere saying hi to some of my buddies this dark December evening. Wanting to wish you a very happy holiday season. Oh, and Petey, too. πŸ™‚

    • It’s so good to see you again Kathy πŸ™‚ And thanks for the kind encouragement. I never really thought I might be inspiring folks to get up and move about – what a nice thought this dreary Monday morning! Tony and Petey and I will be visiting family soon for the holidays; are you and Barry visiting or having visitors? If I don’t talk to you again, have a wonderful Christmas and a great start to the New Year!

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

