Traverse City Recess

Now that things are looking pretty official, it’s time to break the news: Tony and I will be moving in the next few weeks! I’ll be conducting my “recess” in Traverse City instead of Rapid City for the foreseeable future (but I won’t be bothering to update this blog address, so no worries about chasing me down).

We found a place in our favorite downtown neighborhood that we couldn’t pass up, so even though our house is still on the market, we’re relocating. The new place is actually quite a bit older, clocking in at 120 years old. But she’s looking good for her age: the current owner is finishing up a thorough renovation, as you can see from the few photo’s I’m including here. If you want to see more, let me know in the comments, and I’ll add a post with house pictures a little later on.

Kitchen, living room/stairs, dining area. The dishwasher is not actually blue – that’s protective plastic.

As you can imagine, we have been pretty stressed out, and remain so. Tony has a huge project hanging over him at work with a deadline timed almost perfectly with the house purchase closing. And we’re supposed to take a work trip sometime in the near future. My sister is also coming for a visit (If you’re reading: this is not a guilt trip! Totally want you to come!) at the end of the month. Around all this, we will figure out the logistics of moving and setting up a new home. We are old hands at these things, so it’s mostly just annoying at this point. Okay, I’m simplifying; it’s stressful too, but at least this is a local move and not another 1,000+ mile move.

Sunset over Torch Lake last night. I will miss this, but I will find other lovely sunset views to frequent. And this will still be here, and I will still see it.
sunset

20 thoughts on “Traverse City Recess

  1. Bwhahahhaha I will be taking over your susnset shots whenever possible! But Lisa L. will beat me there probably every night! πŸ™‚ Your place looks wonderful, the more pictures the merrier! πŸ™‚

    • Torch Lake is open to everyone Dale πŸ™‚ But, you will definitely have a tough time beating Lisa there!
      More pictures soon. We go in next week to go over the punch list of things that should be finalized.

  2. These things are much easier when you are younger, so I am glad it is you and not me that is moving! πŸ˜‰ Are you moving to be closer to work? At least you will still be near water and parks.

    • We are moving to be closer to the life we seem to have created, starting with our initial move here from the south. We telecommute, so we don’t worry too much about how close to the office we are. But, we will have a better connection, so maybe that counts? πŸ˜‰
      It’s only about 25 miles, so the move will be one of our least arduous, but it will be a huge lifestyle change. We are looking forward to much more walking!

  3. Woohooooo! How exciting! The new digs look lovely! Best wishes to you both and good luck to Tony for his project. I know how stressful it is, but I’m SURE the excitement will vanquish all! Waiting happily for more photos πŸ™‚

    • We wish it had more of its original character, but I think it was removed at some point farther back in the home’s history. It had spent part of its previous life as a duplex. What I am most sure of is that the excitement of everything is making it tough for me to sleep πŸ˜‰ Soon though, soon!

    • You are exactly right! This will turn out to be one of our least stressful moves since we won’t have to try to cram everything into one truck πŸ˜‰
      My instinct is to paint and add crown molding right away, but I am going to try to hold off and live with it as is for a bit!

  4. ohh. I was quite looking forward to chasing you down. Got a net and everything.

    Good luck with your move and I hope you enjoy your new house. I’m sure Petey will give it a good sniffing. πŸ™‚

    • We had Petey in the house while the inspector was inspecting. Our current house required stair carpeting before he would go up and down on his own, but he seems to have outgrown that phobia. He had no trouble ascending and descending to give everything a good sniff.
      Keep that net handy just in case. You never know what shenanigans I may get up to πŸ™‚

  5. How cool to hear that you’re moving to such a beautiful place (easy on the eyes, indeed) in Traverse. I am picturing the neighborhoods behind the business district. Is that where you will be? Keep deep breathing as you move. It may be a bit crazy for a while, but summer is just around the corner…

    • It is definitely going to be crazy, but for once, we actually have a support network for a move πŸ™‚
      Yes – the neighborhood is a few streets south of the downtown businesses. We will be walkable to some of our favorite restaurants, all of our favorite coffee shops, and the beach! I’ll keep everyone posted as move day approaches.

  6. Pingback: A Mothers Place is in the Shed | Uphilldowndale

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

