Settling In

We’ve lived in the new place in Traverse City for just over a week now. There are still a few boxes to unpack, but we’re really in the final innings now. We have a few loads of things to donate, and we have pictures to hang, but I think all the furniture pieces are in their final resting places. Since we gave up quite a few square-feet with this move, it’s been interesting to figure out just how things fit. I’ve gotten creative with some of the organizing, but so far the house doesn’t feel small – and I don’t think it will. I know I promised you photos, but that’ll have to wait until I feel like the house is ready for company 😉

Historically I’ve been a total task-master about completing the move. I’ve tried to lighten up a bit and just enjoy the new location some this time. In the midst of all the packing, unpacking, and nesting, we’ve gone on dozens of miles of walks – one of the things we most looked forward to with this relocation. Petey and I start each morning with a trek around two miles. There have been just a couple mornings when I didn’t feel up to facing the lake breezes, but otherwise we’ve started our days by walking to the bay. It’s a great way to begin.

It’s also a great way to end 😉 (All photos from our walk tonight to get ice cream and then visit the bay.)

 

 

9 thoughts on “Settling In

  1. I love the idea of moving and fitting things into new spaces creatively 🙂
    Who painted those hearts? They go perfectly with Petey’s coat and attitude in life 🙂

  2. Glad to hear you’re feeling more settled and you’re maintaining your (and Petey’s) balance by getting out for walks. Your photos show it to be gorgeous. Love the heart wall!

  3. Happy new home. what a fantastic location, I feel I know a little about the place from Gerry’s blog. We’ve just about put our place back together having shared it with the builder for nine months. Bliss.

  4. Oh I’m happy to hear that you’ve moved and settling in! Just got a snail mail from a taxpayer who lives on 7th Street in Traverse City and thought of you. Gaylord or Grayling may be too far for you to travel now and meet me on my way downstate. Sniff, sniff.

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

