Walking, Walking, Walking on Trails

Sunny, 60’s, blue, and breezy – today was a perfect early summer day Up North. Before I moved here from northern Georgia, I wondered if I would be cold in the summers. After all, it was often in the 90’s there over spring break, while it often snows here…in May. But five years in, I can assert what I already knew from acclimatizing to the Miami heat: you adjust. Not only do I manage to stay warm during most of our winter activities, but I also find that 70’s now feel hot – a far cry from the days in Miami when 75 felt cold!
For my overseas friends: 60’s = 15-21C, 70’s = 21-27C, 75 = 24C, 90’s = 32-38C

tonysebastian

Thus, while mid-60’s might feel chilly to some of you, it was a beautiful day up here, and Tony and Petey and I had a tough time staying inside. We took a nice long walk this morning, then another at lunch, another after dinner, and then we went hiking this evening with our friend Sebastian (smiling in the photo above).

We met at the trails over by the Boardman River, just south of Traverse City. I don’t know why, but these trails aren’t talked about much in local trail literature. They’re well-tended, have beautiful views, and even feature multiple river access points.

boardmanpano

I’m not sure how far we walked – somewhere in the neighborhood of 2-3 miles – but I am sure we enjoyed every second of it, and didn’t get swarmed by mosquitoes. The jury is still out on the ticks, which I am a little twitchy about, since I pulled two OUT of my skin the other day :-/

Unlike all the others, these are not from today. But they are other views of the river, just upstream from our hike.

It’s in the 50’s now, and several of our neighbors are having campfires. If it weren’t approaching midnight, I’d be thinking more seriously about some s’mores. Maybe I’ll just stock up tomorrow so that I’m prepared. Or maybe we’ll just go for another walk 😉

PS – All the photos here can be clicked for bigger views, if you like.

19 thoughts on “Walking, Walking, Walking on Trails

    • Thanks for “walking” along with us! My sanity doesn’t survive well if I don’t get out, and I like to take any friends with me who like to go 🙂
      Good luck making the roadtrip, and be sure to wave if you’re in my area!

    • With the water levels up again, I don’t feel like I can go anywhere and keep all my blood 😉 That night, I was pretty sure I had a tick in my hair, but frantic checking didn’t reveal anything, and time has passed sans bugs. Northern lights might be out tonight, so I’ll see if I can find some ticks tonight 😉

    • Thanks for going along Bonnie! I’m glad that life has slowed down enough again that I can take everyone along who wants to go!
      And that river is marvelous. There are often kayakers on it, and almost always folks fishing – it’s a very healthy stream 🙂

  1. Sounds and looks like heaven to me! The older I get, the more I appreciate the cooler weather.
    Not fun about the tick bites. Is Lyme disease in your area? I came down with my 2nd case in 2 yrs. Mem.Day wkend. 30 days on Doxy. a necessary evil. Even with daily tick checks, the really tiny ones can still slip notice. They are real killjoys to outdoor living.
    Happy Solstice – yay summer!

    • Dawn (of Change is Hard) shared a thing on FB that has me terrified of getting Lyme disease, and not having it properly diagnosed. We do get it here, but it doesn’t seem as prevalent as it is in your area (you know – in Canada 😉 ). Did you know you had it based on the rash? Or the flu-like symptoms? I don’t listen to country music, but I am acquainted with the song lyrics “I want to check you for ticks.” Cute, but I can assure everyone that it is not glamorous at all to check each other for ticks!
      Happy Solstice! May you enjoy the rest of the easy outdoor season in tick-free bliss!

      • My symptoms were headache (meat cleaver in the head!), fever, nausea and a desire to curl up & die 😉 I get bit a lot and while I get most of them out within a few hours, obviously I got it anyway, maybe I missed a head (ick) or it was an itty-bitty one. I get welts but no clear bulls-eye like they show in photos. Not everyone gets them. Igenex in Palo Alto CA has the best tests that most insurers won’t pay for, but it is worth paying out of pocket when it comes to Lyme. $200-300 is a small price to pay if you think you might have it and the docs aren’t being helpful. It is serious!
        Thanks for the good wishes and Happy Summer to you as well!

        • I have a thick mane of hair, so while I am often pretty confident in my bodily removal capabilities, I worry about those that can go unnoticed in my hair! Then there’s the issue of tick nymphs, which as you point out, are tiny. Glad to know the test is “only” $200 to $300. You’re right – totally worth it to avoid some of the long term problems with Lyme!

  2. I love your lifestyle 🙂 Huz and I are seriously contemplating moving up north too. Fallen in love with the Kaghan valley. Had serious trouble with the cold though, temperatures plummeted during the night and there was no heating at all in the motel we stayed at! And then after having experienced that coming back to a punishing heatwave in the south…….ugh.
    I love trails…..but no ticks please. Ladybugs are so much sweeter.

    • Having lived in a hot place for a few years, I know how oppressive it can be, but also how you adjust. Now I live in a relatively cold place. Went for a walk today dressed in summer clothes…a few years ago this same walk would’ve required at least a jacket and a hat. You adjust to the chill, too – as long as you have heat! I don’t know what other changes your “up north” entails, but I couldn’t be happier than living here.
      Yes to the ladybugs! Sooo much sweeter!

Share your thoughts. I'd love to hear from you :)

